Pages:
Author

Topic: [announce] Namecoin - a distributed naming system based on Bitcoin - page 91. (Read 594428 times)

legendary
Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348
Eadem mutata resurgo
Registered my first domain, have to say I'm impressed how easy it is. Awesome work! (spreading the word around...)

Yes. It would be even easier if there was a slightly modified bitcoin client GUI, i.e. a basic namecoin client GUI with an extension to include the capability to handle the new name commands (minimal set);

Code:
name_firstupdate   [] 
name_list []
name_new
name_scan [] []
name_update []

and we could trade namecoins like bitcoins to boot.

I can begin a pool bounty in namecoin for this work if someone wants to name their price.
sr. member
Activity: 476
Merit: 250
Registered my first domain, have to say I'm impressed how easy it is. Awesome work! (spreading the word around...)
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
khal what do you think about theymos' bitDNS proposal? Wouldn't that be a Namecoin killer if it were implemented or is it technically limited enough to justify the existence of this block chain?
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1019
maybe the old dragons already sitting on significant shares of the future money should register the worst domains for things like child pornography and racism to limit abuse. no doubt there will be plenty real bad domains with namecoin but at least they won't be as catchy.
hero member
Activity: 540
Merit: 500
Yeah but the bitcoin fees are voluntary, the minimum fee is just a default of the official client. As far as I can tell the name_firstupdate fee is network-enforced, so it will become way harder to change if namecoin becomes widely used.

Anyway, still would like to know the reason why vinced decided to put that 0.01 NC minimum since the only purpose of that fee is to reduce domain squatting early on.
All name_* commands have a minimum fee to limit spam. name_firstupdate has a big one to limit the rush.
The 0.01 minimum fee will not become a problem suddenly, so updating the namecoin client will be done when necessary and in advance.


If the fee is left there then the money supply will begin to contract at some point when the block reward becomes less than the rate of destruction.
I think too that the namecoins should not be lost. If they are lost, we will use smaller and smaller namecoins amounts, will need to decrease the fee limit more often, etc. Give them to miners, they will be happy and offer more NC for same amount of BTC.


Btw, I read that there were plans to make a cross miner that can work on both block chains simultaneously at the same hashrate. Are people already working on this or is it still on brainstorm phase?
It's not an easy update :p. I've seen discussions about that on the bitcoin forum, i don't know at what stage is all this.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
This minimum can be changed if needed. Same applies to bitcoin : minimum fee will pass from 0.01BTC to 0.0005BTC.

Yeah but the bitcoin fees are voluntary, the minimum fee is just a default of the official client. As far as I can tell the name_firstupdate fee is network-enforced, so it will become way harder to change if namecoin becomes widely used. Anyway, still would like to know the reason why vinced decided to put that 0.01 NC minimum since the only purpose of that fee is to reduce domain squatting early on. If the fee is left there then the money supply will begin to contract at some point when the block reward becomes less than the rate of destruction.

Btw, I read that there were plans to make a cross miner that can work on both block chains simultaneously at the same hashrate. Are people already working on this or is it still on brainstorm phase?
hero member
Activity: 540
Merit: 500
I used "{\"map\": {\"\": \"10.0.0.1\"}} "

is the code it spits out on a name_firstupdate useful for anything?

what would be the easiest way to redirect .bit domains to old style domains without having a static IP at hand? I would like to try your DNS, khal. =)
Say your .bit domain is example.bit
Say your existing website is example.com.
example.com has ip 192.0.32.10
www.example.com has ip 192.0.32.10
example.com has ns A.IANA-SERVERS.NET & B.IANA-SERVERS.NET

You have two options to configure your domain :
A. put the ip address of your webserver directly for "" (for eindomain.bit :p) and www (for www.eindomain.bit)
* set json-value: "{\"map\": {\"\": \"192.0.32.10\"}, {\"www\": \"192.0.32.10\"}}"
* add example.bit in the same interface where you added example.com
If your web hosting provider don't accept unknown TLDs (.bit for ex :p), you must use another provider

B. put the same nameservers used by your other domain
* set json-value: "{\"map\": {\"\": {\"ns\": [\"A.IANA-SERVERS.NET\", \"B.IANA-SERVERS.NET\"]}}}"
* add example.bit in the same interface where you added example.com
If you can only add a domain by registering it, you can't use this method.

Then :
* if you want a redirect, add an html or php file to redirect to example.com
* if you want to browse directly on example.bit, configure it to point to the same folder as example.com

If you need to add your .bit domain on another web hosting to do a redirect, i can do it for 1BTC on my webserver :p
hero member
Activity: 540
Merit: 500
Why is there a minimum name_firstupdate fee of 0.01 NC? Won't registrations become extremely expensive if namecoins rise too much in value?
This minimum can be changed if needed. Same applies to bitcoin : minimum fee will pass from 0.01BTC to 0.0005BTC.


Also why is this fee destroyed instead of given back to miners?
That's a good question i asked : http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=31
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Why is there a minimum name_firstupdate fee of 0.01 NC? Won't registrations become extremely expensive if namecoins rise too much in value?

Also why is this fee destroyed instead of given back to miners?
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1019
yes I waited long enough. I found out what the problem was:

I used the json checker and it gave me the properly escaped json sequence for windows. The wiki is a little misleading for windows users because copy and paste does not work.

instead of '{"map": {"": "10.0.0.1"}}' I used "{\"map\": {\"\": \"10.0.0.1\"}} "

is the code it spits out on a name_firstupdate useful for anything?

what would be the easiest way to redirect .bit domains to old style domains without having a static IP at hand? I would like to try your DNS, khal. =)
hero member
Activity: 540
Merit: 500
I tried to firstupdate and got this (names changed; I made the name new 20 blocks ago):

namecoind name_firstupdate d/bitcoin 519eXXXXX005 eb554af3deb4XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX8e32beba99066988f8c685b '{"map": {"": "10.0.0.1"}}'
error: {"code":-1,"message":"name_firstupdate [] \nPerf
orm a first update after a name_new reservation.\nNote that the first update wil
l go into a block 12 blocks after the name_new, at the soonest."}

Is it trying to tell me my name_new did not work out?

Did you wait for 12 blocks after the name_new ?
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1019
what does it mean that I reserved a name?
When you reserve a name, other people don't know the domain name you reserved. This avoids another person to name_new the same domain as you 1 second after you.

Quote
for how long will it stay reserved?
12'000 blocks too, after that, your name_new has expired. Other people can also do name_new. The first one to do the name_firstupdate gets the domain.

thanks, I see.

I tried to firstupdate and got this (names changed; I made the name new 20 blocks ago):

namecoind name_firstupdate d/bitcoin 519eXXXXX005 eb554af3deb4XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX8e32beba99066988f8c685b '{"map": {"": "10.0.0.1"}}'
error: {"code":-1,"message":"name_firstupdate [] \nPerf
orm a first update after a name_new reservation.\nNote that the first update wil
l go into a block 12 blocks after the name_new, at the soonest."}

Is it trying to tell me my name_new did not work out?

hero member
Activity: 540
Merit: 500
what does it mean that I reserved a name?
When you reserve a name, other people don't know the domain name you reserved. This avoids another person to name_new the same domain as you 1 second after you.


Quote
for how long will it stay reserved?
12'000 blocks too, after that, your name_new has expired. Other people can also do name_new. The first one to do the name_firstupdate gets the domain.
foo
sr. member
Activity: 409
Merit: 250
what happens if I reserve without the d/ in front of the name? it seems to work fine.
It will not be recognized as a domain name, so you have basically just wasted some namecoins.
legendary
Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348
Eadem mutata resurgo
what happens if I reserve without the d/ in front of the name? it seems to work fine.

what does it mean that I reserved a name? for how long will it stay reserved? could I reserve a hundred names and lock them for everyone else? I hope not.  >=]


After the

Code:
./namecoind name_firstupdate

the name stays reserved for 12,000 blocks (i think) at which point you can do a

Code:
./namecoind name_update 

to keep it current  ... cost (0.01NC)

We need to get the exact details extracted out of the forums, made explicit, and put up on the wiki ... bear with us.

http://dot-bit.org/HowToRegisterAndConfigureBitDomains#4._Other_updates

Edit: it is in the OP ... start there at least.
"Names expire after 12000 blocks unless renewed with an update"
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1019
what happens if I reserve without the d/ in front of the name? it seems to work fine.

what does it mean that I reserved a name? for how long will it stay reserved? could I reserve a hundred names and lock them for everyone else? I hope not.  >=]

legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1019
I mined with ~500mhash for 12hours and do not seem to have found anything. I tried the testnet flag to check the setup but it does not connect:

C:\phoenix>c:\phoenix\phoenix.exe -u http://xxxx:[email protected]:8336 -
k poclbm DEVICE=2 -v -q 3 -a 256 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=10
[25/05/2011 22:37:01] Phoenix 1.48 starting...
MSG: Bitcoin is not connected!
[25/05/2011 22:37:01] Failed to connect, retrying...
[0 Khash/sec] [0 Accepted] [0 Rejected] [RPC]

the miners seem to work fine with normal use. I assume there is no testnet for namecoin yet, correct? (could not find this info).



-----------edit------------
I forgot they have to mature. using "namecoind.exe listtransactions" to find out how many I got...  sweet I got a couple of blocks. I imagine this is a little bit similiar to when it all started, very nice.
legendary
Activity: 2058
Merit: 1431
for listtractions I get -

error: {"code";-32601,"message":"Method not found"}

I am using the Windows exe.

Do I need to list the account?
spelling fail.
hero member
Activity: 540
Merit: 500
for listtractions I get -

error: {"code";-32601,"message":"Method not found"}

I am using the Windows exe.

Do I need to list the account?
Not listtractions, but listtransactions


forever-d > i'll be on irc soon if you need help
legendary
Activity: 938
Merit: 1001
bitcoin - the aerogel of money
When I try to do name_update I get this message:

error: {"code":-1,"message":"there are pending operations on that name"}

I have waited for a day and still get the message. I only get this message for a name I name_firstupdate'd with an older version of namecoin. I doubled checked in my transaction history that I really firstupdate'd this name.  For all other names I own, name_update works fine.  Using linux 32 binary.

Any idea what could be the problem? Help much appreciated.
Pages:
Jump to: