Pages:
Author

Topic: [Announcement] Butterfly Labs - page 16. (Read 64445 times)

Activity: 504
Merit: 500
September 20, 2012, 11:00:56 PM
Scum is scum...

Quoting this from here since I noticed Inaba just magiclly happened to not read the last part of David's post here and then the convo quickly moved away from the subject again......
Code:
davidspitzer 

Re: BFL SC / Jally first picture?
September 19, 2012, 07:22:13 PM  #243  

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
.. but according to the indictment, there was no offshore gaming, just people pretending to be associated with offshore games, when in fact they were simply taking people's money. No gambling at all was occurring, which is why the indictment/conviction was for mail fraud, not illegal gambling.

It's my understanding (but I am not a lawyer) that the government would not be able to get a prosecution for the offshore gaming (and Italy would not extradite if the US intended to prosecute on those charges), since it was legal in that jurisdiction and instead went for mail fraud, since the lotteries via mail were involved.
in the indictment though it states:

...From the Payment Accounts, at the direction of defendants VLEISIDES, HOUSTON, and EMMETT, defendant WALTHER and others known and unknown to the Grand Jury wrote checks falsely represented as lottery winnings and sent them back to the victims. The amount of the alleged "winnings" sent to each victim was far less than the amount the victim had sent in.

This would seem to indicate that the knowingly attempted to deceive people into thinking they had won a foreign lottery to induce them to send in more money. I hate to say this but the two accounts do not line up for me"

That's exactly what it indicates. And any person who can read is able to assertain that the two stated allegations are indeed different events.