Pages:
Author

Topic: Braiins OS & Braiins OS+ custom ASIC firmware: optimize performance & efficiency - page 25. (Read 45351 times)

legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1569
CLEAN non GPL infringing code made in Rust lang
New version out!

2019-06-05-0
All mining hardware types
    
  • [feature] YES, we have a new logo that is consistent with the new Braiins logo, hope, you like it ;-)
  • [feature] the IP report button feature now broadcasts a UDP datagram compatible with the original S9 factory firmware
  • [feature] the miner now stores the reason of the last cgminer exit/failure in /tmp/cgminer_quit_reason. The miner status page now presents the actual reason along with a confirmation button to clear the last failure status
  • [feature] fix web status data loading when connecting to miners in remote locations with considerable latencies
  • [feature] universal SD card images - each SD card image tries to detect device MAC address from any firmware image that is present in NAND flash. This simplifies using the same SD card image on multiple devices without the need for manually generating editing uEnv.txt on each card
  • [feature] it is now possible to install bOS into flash memory from a running SD card - see the docs for details
  • [feature] increase stratum connect() timeout to 3 seconds to prevent harassing stratum servers to early when probing all IP address for a given URL
  • [feature] attempt to perform opkg install firmware on bOS instance running from SD card now visibly tells the user that this is not a supported operation (= you should obtain a new SD card image and write it to your SD card)
  • [feature] TUN/TAP module is now part of the base system as we cannot use upstream modules due to custom kernel. These can be useful for OpenVPN
  • [bug] #xnsub support for NH stratum extension has been fixed
  • [bug] a few memory leaks in bmminer and cgminer API have been fixed

Antminer S9
    
  • [feature] there are 2 new options: --disable-sensors - the mining software acts as if there were no temperature sensors found. That is fan would be running at 100% unless set to some manually override value --disable-remote-sensors - mining software only takes temperature measurement from the hash boards and doesn't try to measure temperature on the mining chips. The actual mining chip temperature is being estimated as hash board temperature plus some empirically set offset (15 C)
  • [bug] fix support for non-asicboost pools by eliminating mining.configure in case the number of configured midstates is 1 (AsicBoost disabled)

https://braiins-os.org/
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
I haven't tried it but this option appears to be available. Why don't you just try it?

I would bet something like "load-balance":true in cgminer.conf would do.

I tried. It just mines for the first available pool and doesn't mine for the others. It keeps connection to the rest of pools but there is no accepted blocks.
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1569
CLEAN non GPL infringing code made in Rust lang
Could someone please tell me - is it possible to use cgminer on braiins-os in --load-balance mode and mine for 3 pools at same time?

I haven't tried it but this option appears to be available. Why don't you just try it?

I would bet something like "load-balance":true in cgminer.conf would do.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Cron syntax is rather simple, you can learn it by using this web page: https://crontab.guru/

Ok I have looked that over, but I don't think it is giving me what I need. It has no explanation as to what I need to put into cgminer.conf or how to wright the code to get it to run properly. All that link does is tells me how to set up the timing.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
Could someone please tell me - is it possible to use cgminer on braiins-os in --load-balance mode and mine for 3 pools at same time?
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1569
CLEAN non GPL infringing code made in Rust lang
Right now I am using the UI to do the change manually and yes I loose about 4 min a day but the gain outweighs the cost. Correct, the point of using the Scheduled Tasks is so that I don't have to do it myself every day. My problem is that I don't know the syntax that is needed to accomplish what I would like to do. I have the basic understanding with the previously quoted, but I don't have the specific.

Cron syntax is rather simple, you can learn it by using this web page: https://crontab.guru/
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 3095
BTC price road to $80k
I think you can't do that auto restart the miner when not hashing? you can set the miner to auto restart but you can't set it to auto restart when the miner is not hashing.

There is a method through SSH to set the miner auto reboot every 3 hours or any time you want to reboot the miner I don't know if Braiins OS has this feature but you can do that in default firmware of s9. Source from here https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/on-board-auto-reboot-with-antminer-s9-daily-reboots-4720967.
member
Activity: 71
Merit: 17
Theres a way to make braiins auto restart the asic when not hashing?
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Right now I am using the UI to do the change manually and yes I loose about 4 min a day but the gain outweighs the cost. Correct, the point of using the Scheduled Tasks is so that I don't have to do it myself every day. My problem is that I don't know the syntax that is needed to accomplish what I would like to do. I have the basic understanding with the previously quoted, but I don't have the specific.
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1569
CLEAN non GPL infringing code made in Rust lang
You don't need to stop cgminer before copying the file, just copy it then restart it. If you leave it like that, you are going to lose 4 minutes of mining everyday.

The point of putting your commands in cron, is so you don't have to do it everyday.

Only once you are going to copy the files, you could possibly do it by hand if you recognize where the settings go, but setting them in the ui  then copy that configuration works.

As long as you have both config files made, manually or by ui.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Thanks for the responce but it seems that one of the admins edited my post removing the quoted post. This is what I had quoted:

Add 2 cgminer.conf with your desired configs

Example:

Code:
/root/cgminer.conf.500
/root/cgminer.conf.750

Then edit crontab and set it to copy them before reload cgminer like this

Code:
0 7 * * * cp /root/cgminer.conf.500 /etc/cgminer.conf && /etc/init.d/cgminer reload
0 23 * * * cp /root/cgminer.conf.750 /etc/cgminer.conf && /etc/init.d/cgminer reload

Dont know if you need to stop cgminer before copy new config or not, if so you can do this:

Code:
59 6 * * * /etc/init.d/cgminer stop
0 7 * * * cp /root/cgminer.conf.500 /etc/cgminer.conf
1 7 * * * /etc/init.d/cgminer start
59 22* * * /etc/init.d/cgminer stop
0 23 * * * cp /root/cgminer.conf.750 /etc/cgminer.conf
1 23 * * * /etc/init.d/cgminer start

So I want to do this in "scheduled tasks", But I want to make sure that I have it typed right. Can you lend any assistance with that? Doing it the way you sugested will require me to do something every day (as I do now). I want to be able to set it and let it run.

Thanks,
Q
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1569
CLEAN non GPL infringing code made in Rust lang
I am wondering if someone can give me a hand. I am wanting to run my S9 at 681,731,725-8.8,8.9,8.7 from 11am to 10pm, then 793,825,793-8.9,9.0,8.8 from 10pm to 11am. I am not sure how to wright it in corntab. Can someone help me so that I don't mess it up? Thanks in advance. Q

Probably a variation of this,

Just make copies of cgminer.conf with your desired configurations and switch them accordingly.

All you need to do is run a script at the desired time to shuffle your config files.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
Hi all, sorry I'm a noob in linux.

In what file should I put the --min-fans setting? cgminer.conf? If not what is the correct file and path to it? The same question goes for "--fan-dangerous-temp" and "--fan-hot-temp" settings. What is the exact correct syntax usage for this?

Also, I tried to find "temp-def.h" file and did not found it via ssh console find command!?

Thanks.
newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 0
I am wondering if someone can give me a hand. I am wanting to run my S9 at 681,731,725-8.8,8.9,8.7 from 11am to 10pm, then 793,825,793-8.9,9.0,8.8 from 10pm to 11am. I am not sure how to wright it in corntab. Can someone help me so that I don't mess it up? Thanks in advance. Q
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1569
CLEAN non GPL infringing code made in Rust lang
You might get support at a later version, so don't lose hope. I haven't seen any Hydros, Does it still have the jp4 jumper (or switch) that would let it boot from an SD card?

Maybe the S11 or newer use a similar controller?
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 8
Does it work on the s9 hydro?

No it doesn't as at 25th May 2019. I flashed my S9 hydro with normal S9 asicboost, the new one with the .sig. signature image. Now it's bricked because Bitmain will not write a .sig. version for the S9 Hydro AND, the image/firmware that is in there blocks any SSH or none .sig. files.

There is only one firmware for the S9 Hydro anyway here --> https://service.bitmain.com/support/download?product=S9-Hydro (scroll up if you can't see it!)

The S9 Hydro is not just a water-cooled S9. It has a different controller board and uses 24 pin ribbon cables as opposed to 18 pin ones on S9's.
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1569
CLEAN non GPL infringing code made in Rust lang
... Or use a soundproof box to reduce the noise image below.

https://ytimg.googleusercontent.com/vi/VbAjh5q1Tzw/hqdefault.jpg

A wooden box with sound insulating fabrics inside works better, coupled maybe with sound insulating ducts attached to the box (NOT the miner).

Fan speeds can be adjusted with Braiins OS, but he was complaining about noise at start time, before the firmware has any chance to do anything.
newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 10
I disabled the fans and connected the miner to the air extraction system of the building. Also swapped out the APW7 for a normal desktop PSU. The miner is almost completely silent now.

With Braiins I underclocked the miner to 325 MHz, and I'm getting a hashrate of 6.5 / 7 Th/s with temperatures of 80 / 85 degrees Celcius. (When things heat up during summer I can go as low as 200 MHz.)

When playing around with the MHz I also noticed that the miner will still shutdown when --fan-dangerous-temp is reached, even when using --no-sensor-scan. (So a failing air extraction system will luckily not destory the miner.)

I'm very happy with Braiins, because before all the boards in this miner were considered to be dead because of the problems they had.
legendary
Activity: 3374
Merit: 3095
BTC price road to $80k
Ah, I see. So it's not a setting, but fans getting the full 12v until the controller kicks in.

Well, maybe I will just disable the fans altogether and look for an other way of cooling. In my case noise is the biggest issue.

You can adjust the fan speed on default s9 firmware but the problem you can't bypass the temp sensor if you force to bypass the temp sensor it may lead to overheating and it will end up dying fast.

If you still want to know how you can follow this method from here Solution for ANTMINER S9 FANS SPEED Up & Down every 20 Seconds.

Or use a soundproof box to reduce the noise image below.

newbie
Activity: 16
Merit: 10
I asked about this, and there is good news for you:

Quote from: Artemis3
"would it be possible to just ignore the sensors on boards/chains with problems?"
I think this feature request would be to disable sensors per board (chain) instead of the whole miner.

Quote from: Jan Čapek
that's implemented for the upcoming release

That is very good news indeed! Thanks for asking!


There is nothing you can do when you are powering up a fan you get full power to it, until the controller boots and orders it to slow down. The only way to solve this would be with a hardware solution, such as feeding 7v instead of 12v for 1min or such...

Ah, I see. So it's not a setting, but fans getting the full 12v until the controller kicks in.

Well, maybe I will just disable the fans altogether and look for an other way of cooling. In my case noise is the biggest issue.
Pages:
Jump to: