Author

Topic: [DVC]DevCoin - Official Thread - Moderated - page 293. (Read 1058949 times)

legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 25, 2013, 03:08:32 AM
..
Well what was happening was For transactions under 27k coins it would fall into allowfree since its always true and set fee to 0.. however there is am involuntary dust fee added which adds a small fee regardles of allowfree basefee \ 10 where basefee is 5 coins.. so 0.5 dvc.

So now fees for under 27k coins should be a little higher.The rest are same.

Even on the old code there was always a fee so no free tx got in even
before. I see the sync complete to the latest block index from block explorer.

That's good news. Also, bitcoin 0.8.x now also stops dust:
CTxOut::IsDust()

I still want to keep the devcoin dust stopping code, because bitcoin has different fees.


Yea looks like it checks before send and adds dust to fee.
hero member
Activity: 935
Merit: 1015
December 25, 2013, 02:57:08 AM
..
Well what was happening was For transactions under 27k coins it would fall into allowfree since its always true and set fee to 0.. however there is am involuntary dust fee added which adds a small fee regardles of allowfree basefee \ 10 where basefee is 5 coins.. so 0.5 dvc.

So now fees for under 27k coins should be a little higher.The rest are same.

Even on the old code there was always a fee so no free tx got in even
before. I see the sync complete to the latest block index from block explorer.

That's good news. Also, bitcoin 0.8.x now also stops dust:
CTxOut::IsDust()

I still want to keep the devcoin dust stopping code, because bitcoin has different fees.
legendary
Activity: 3108
Merit: 1531
yes
December 25, 2013, 02:56:59 AM
I managed to install Github on Windows and get the .jar file. Upon install, I get an error, even if I make the 'Devcoin' folder manually.

[...]

Are you running as admin looks like it doesnt have priviledge? Try to install to say c:/mydvcwallet or something.

I run Windows as regular user. Apparently, the java installer indeed has trouble passing the standard security measures.

Installed in Desktop folder instead and moved everything to the regular program files folder. It workes fine and found my exiting wallet.
For the record: windows 8.1 pro 64 bit, client v0.8.5.1-g25a7d46-beta.

If someone wants to test payments again: 18GCTJhxrWfXjnLwwjJKsSYBpyEV16pRs (please mention return address in this thread).

Please note that payments will eat 0.5 DVC so I wont be able to return 100% of the amount received.
legendary
Activity: 2940
Merit: 1090
December 25, 2013, 02:53:44 AM
When bitcoin changed its fees way back when, was that a "when a certain block is reached, these new different free go into effect" change?

Or is it actually okay to arbitrarily change the fee calculations without having such a spot on the chain at which the change comes into effect?

-MarkM-

legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 25, 2013, 02:43:52 AM
And is that how bitcoin checks that same thing?

I understood that the new I0COin, on which this is based, was in turn based on new bitcoin?

-MarkM-


I coulsnt find many examples going from a pub script to a hash160.. I had to look up where hash160() was used to see what i had available... The keyid converts script address to hash160 by doing the strip.. I dont think the reciever stuff would have worked if it gave wrong address in the txout
legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 25, 2013, 02:41:13 AM
..
GetMinFee is updated I assume we dont want to allow free transactions so its similar to the link but different than the old source.

Indeed free transactions must be blocked to stop dust spam. Does your client load up to the latest block even though the old source might of allowed some free transactions into the block chain?

Quote
Getworkaux (merge mining) wasnt changed but i couldnt test it my merge mine proxy wouldnt connect to a cpu miner so i mined locally on my daemon using setgenerate true instead and it wokred.. merge minimg will have to be tested.

I'll add a 12 share bounty for the first person to merge mine a block with your code, then 6 shares bounty for the second person.




Well what was happening was For transactions under 27k coins it would fall into allowfree since its always true and set fee to 0.. however there is am involuntary dust fee added which adds a small fee regardles of allowfree basefee \ 10 where basefee is 5 coins.. so 0.5 dvc.

So now fees for under 27k coins should be a little higher.The rest are same.

Even on the old code there was always a fee so no free tx got in even
before. I see the sync complete to the latest block index from block explorer.
legendary
Activity: 2940
Merit: 1090
December 25, 2013, 02:33:14 AM
And is that how bitcoin checks that same thing?

I understood that the new I0COin, on which this is based, was in turn based on new bitcoin?

-MarkM-
legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 25, 2013, 02:31:05 AM
The createblock had to change because the AddressTo160 doesnt exist in the new bitcoin src. But I suspect blocks wouldnt download if I didnt port it correctly.

What does bitcoin use instead? Presumably bitcoin still needs to validate its old blocks that did use 160 bit whatzits?

-MarkM-


So here https://github.com/sidhujag/devcoin/blob/master/src/main.cpp

In connectblock it was checking address validity by seeing if hash160
was non zero but there were two new classes I used to check validity and get the address to store in the coinlist structure. CxDestination allow you to extract address destination using ExtractDestination passing in the script public key.. Then i pass the destination into
a new CBitcoinAddress which has a isvalid and then a tostring()...

In createnewblock (near end) Im doing an additional validity check and then using  CKeyID to
call GetID() on the CBitcoinAddress which returns the hash160 of the public address. So its just using these other functions to do same thing
hero member
Activity: 935
Merit: 1015
December 25, 2013, 02:13:18 AM
..
GetMinFee is updated I assume we dont want to allow free transactions so its similar to the link but different than the old source.

Indeed free transactions must be blocked to stop dust spam. Does your client load up to the latest block even though the old source might of allowed some free transactions into the block chain?

Quote
Getworkaux (merge mining) wasnt changed but i couldnt test it my merge mine proxy wouldnt connect to a cpu miner so i mined locally on my daemon using setgenerate true instead and it wokred.. merge minimg will have to be tested.

I'll add a 12 share bounty for the first person to merge mine a block with your code, then 6 shares bounty for the second person.
legendary
Activity: 2940
Merit: 1090
December 25, 2013, 01:58:33 AM
The createblock had to change because the AddressTo160 doesnt exist in the new bitcoin src. But I suspect blocks wouldnt download if I didnt port it correctly.

What does bitcoin use instead? Presumably bitcoin still needs to validate its old blocks that did use 160 bit whatzits?

-MarkM-
legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 25, 2013, 01:55:47 AM
I managed to install Github on Windows and get the .jar file. Upon install, I get an error, even if I make the 'Devcoin' folder manually.



Are you running as admin looks like it doesnt have priviledge? Try to install to say c:/mydvcwallet or something.
legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 25, 2013, 01:54:00 AM
Sidhujag get 48 shares provisionally, on the condition that a code report shows that the changes are the same as that of the most recent source from Twobits:
https://gitorious.org/devcoin/devcoin

The changes must be identical or else there could be a network fork. Since we now need a quick code report, the bounty for that has been boosted to 12 shares for the first report and 6 shares for the second report.

http://www.devtome.com/doku.php?id=devcoin#technical is a good place to start with this.

The createblock had to change because the AddressTo160 doesnt exist in the new bitcoin src. But I suspect blocks wouldnt download if I didnt port it correctly.


I added some extra testnet stuff including checkpoints.

GetNextWorkRequired is pretty much same minor difference.

GetMinFee is updated I assume we dont want to allow free transactions so its similar to the link but different than the old source.


ConnectBlock was pretty much same too but the address validation changed again in new bitcoin source so I assume this port works.

Getworkaux (merge mining) wasnt changed but i couldnt test it my merge mine proxy wouldnt connect to a cpu miner so i mined locally on my daemon using setgenerate true instead and it wokred.. merge minimg will have to be tested.


legendary
Activity: 3108
Merit: 1531
yes
December 25, 2013, 01:49:45 AM
I managed to install Github on Windows and get the .jar file. Upon install, I get an error, even if I make the 'Devcoin' folder manually.

hero member
Activity: 935
Merit: 1015
December 25, 2013, 01:41:27 AM
Sidhujag get 48 shares provisionally, on the condition that a code report shows that the changes are the same as that of the most recent source from Twobits:
https://gitorious.org/devcoin/devcoin

The changes must be identical or else there could be a network fork. Since we now need a quick code report, the bounty for that has been boosted to 12 shares for the first report and 6 shares for the second report.
hero member
Activity: 935
Merit: 1015
December 25, 2013, 01:31:27 AM
Because Moneychanger only runs in the systray:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.4048771

it does not get the Open Transactions client for Grandma award. Also the bounty for people to test it is suspended until it runs like a standard application. The original bounty post was edited so that no one wastes effort testing it in its current form:
https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/m.4020144

If I get a message that Moneychanger works like a standard application, the testing bounty will be back on.
hero member
Activity: 935
Merit: 1015
December 25, 2013, 01:17:03 AM
It turned out that I missed a post by Ranlo, who posted after Cyke64 and before Bittzy78. So I'm redoing this bounty.

..
I just ran the new 0.8.5 version and it's awesome! I love this so much more than the other one; and it takes about a second from running it before it's updating the blockchain (the old one takes 3-5 minutes to start). Huge +1 from me!

Ranlo gets 3 shares for the second post about the client.

..
I installed that client on my computer yesterday and was impressed with how much it looked just like a Bitcoin/Litecoin wallet. I think it stopped downloading the block chain a couple of times but I could have just been a little impatient. I closed it and then opened it back up again and it started right where it left off. I checked on it a an hour before I went to work and did a test send and receive of Devcoins. I didn't notice any hitches sending or receiving the coins. I plan on playing with  it some more today after I get off work in the morning.

I have to say the absolute #1 plus about this new wallet is being able to backup your data. I have an older computer and that dang thing might just stop working one of these days.  Smiley

Overall, I was very impressed with it.

(I am sorry this review wasn't more technical but I am kinda low tech)

Bittzy78 gets 2 shares for the second post about the client.

..
I uploaded it earlier this evening and I also was impressed with the ease of use.  The visual aspect of the client was more like what I am used to and the installation was so smooth, which is important to technically challenged persons like myself Cheesy.  It is still in the process of receiving the blocks, but I'm sure that will not be a problem.  Consistently, it is connected to 8 active connections, I'm not sure if that is the max amount or not.


DVC wallet:    13mtCyZTnMJRJw9nt7xqbiGU7tXrvkeAJB

Papacrusher gets 1 share for the fourth post about the client on the main thread. Web wallets like vircurex can not handle generation devcoins, is your devcoin address from your computer? Since this is your first time on a payment list, please check that your address is correct at:
https://raw.github.com/Unthinkingbit/charity/master/bounty_31.csv

..
I did a write up at Devtome: http://www.devtome.com/doku.php?id=testing_updated_devcoin_windows_client

The new client really behaves well. I love to see it linked via Devcoin.org once all small corrections have been made.

Your article is way more than 50 words, it has great pictures, and Bittzy78 got his link from your article, it must of been there first. Technically since the post was made later, you not get any shares, but you'll get one for the devtome article.

I downloaded the devcoin client in the OP.

Overall, it seems okay so far (indexing the ~118K blocks will take much more time). However, there are some minor cosmetic errors:

1. The taskbar logo, the window icon and the "About Devcoin" logo are I0Coin.
2. In "Sign/Verify Message", the "Devcoin addresses" are actually I0Coin addresses.
3. "Pay To" says "Enter a Bitcoin address".

Other than that, I don't see any major problems. I'll wait further until the reindex is complete to update this post.

On another thread, Meta.p02 wrote this and another post, so even though it wasn't on the main thread he also gets a share.

The Testing Sidhujag's Client bounty is finished.
legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 24, 2013, 06:54:53 PM
There's no support for walletnotify? Where can i push a patch for it?

Markm, there an official git link for this?

As far as I know walletnotify should be supported by the new client: github.com/sidhujag...

If you check it out in the dist folder there is an installer. Can we confirm its working like expected? This is not official release but after testing it may be.

I took a look at the windows QT client 1.0.3 and the old folder https://github.com/sidhujag/devcoin/tree/master/dist/Windows32 has disappeared.
I've found instead of it https://github.com/sidhujag/devcoin/tree/master/dist/binaries and many files in it (without explanations)
Could you explained which one I have to install to test it ?

qt clients :
Devcoin-qt.exe (32-bit windows version ?)
Devcoin-qt_l32.exe (32-bit linux version ?)   
Devcoin-qt_l64.exe (64-bit linux version ?   )
Devcoin-qt_osx.exe   
Devcoin-qt_w64.exe (64-bit windows version ?)   

daemons :
devcoind.exe   
devcoind_l32.exe   
devcoind_l64.exe   
devcoind_osx.exe   
devcoind_w64.exe   

What's the difference between devcoin-qt and    Devcoin-1.0.3.jar ?
Thanks



Please use the jar installer it will detect your os either win osx linux.. those exe are all same all win32 used as placeholders for now so I can test the installer.. I am waiting for others to build the linux osx and win64 builds so the installer can be official. I put v1.0.3 into there with qr codes enabled.

You can probably download the devcoind.exe because its small enough if thats all you need but I want to test the installer too.
legendary
Activity: 2044
Merit: 1005
December 24, 2013, 06:51:34 PM
There's no support for walletnotify? Where can i push a patch for it?

its there https://github.com/sidhujag/devcoin/blob/master/src/init.cpp
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
December 24, 2013, 06:51:09 PM
There's no support for walletnotify? Where can i push a patch for it?

Markm, there an official git link for this?

As far as I know walletnotify should be supported by the new client: github.com/sidhujag...

If you check it out in the dist folder there is an installer. Can we confirm its working like expected? This is not official release but after testing it may be.

I took a look at the windows QT client 1.0.3 and the old folder https://github.com/sidhujag/devcoin/tree/master/dist/Windows32 has disappeared.
I've found instead of it https://github.com/sidhujag/devcoin/tree/master/dist/binaries and many files in it (without explanations)
Could you explained which one I have to install to test it ?

qt clients :
Devcoin-qt.exe (32-bit windows version ?)
Devcoin-qt_l32.exe (32-bit linux version ?)   
Devcoin-qt_l64.exe (64-bit linux version ?   )
Devcoin-qt_osx.exe   
Devcoin-qt_w64.exe (64-bit windows version ?)   

daemons :
devcoind.exe   
devcoind_l32.exe   
devcoind_l64.exe   
devcoind_osx.exe   
devcoind_w64.exe   

What's the difference between devcoin-qt and    Devcoin-1.0.3.jar ?
Thanks

full member
Activity: 276
Merit: 102
Jump to: