Pages:
Author

Topic: Intellectual Property - In All Fairness! - page 15. (Read 105875 times)

legendary
Activity: 1680
Merit: 1035
October 19, 2011, 10:56:11 AM
Ok, so, let's say I am a business owner running a fast food restaurant. My restaurant is a typical fast food joint run just like any other. Some week ago, I realize an ingeniuous way in which I can improve my business productivity and profits by changing how I am managing and compensating my employees, and the positions they are in while assembling burgers. This takes some time thinking the idea out, and then some time implementing it. As a result, my restaurant profits increase, and my business becomes much more profitable than other standard fast food joints.

Is the way my employees are positioned, or the way I now compensate them, something I can copyright, or is it even intellectual property? Like with books and music, this is something I spent time thinking about and creating entirely out of my mind in hopes to get compensated for it. So, it certainly fits your IP mold, but what kind of recource should I have if the fast food joint across the street sees the way I'm doing things and starts doing the same thing (i.e. if they steal my business management practices)?
Activity: 294
Merit: 252
October 19, 2011, 09:23:40 AM
Because you can't seem to wrap your head around the idea that data isn't property, so that any business model based upon the use of force to treat data as property is fundamentally unjust.

In an analogous way, humans are not property, so any business model based upon the use of force to treat humans as property is fundamentally unjust.
legendary
Activity: 1708
Merit: 1010
October 19, 2011, 09:12:43 AM
In summary: to copy a very large number is to steal it, because the notion of copying a number is meaningless mathematically. Owning a DVD which contains the number is only ownership of the plastic DVD, not the number.

Stealing a physical object deprives the legitimate owner use of it.