Author

Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.0 - page 630. (Read 5806103 times)

sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
I tried this but the engine clock on the first gpu get stuck at 850. That's the stock speed for the card, the other clocks get changed correctly. If I change it from within cg miner it works.

"auto-gpu": true,
"auto-fan" : true,
"gpu-engine" : "600-850,800-800,800-800,800-800,800-800",
"gpu-fan" : "100-100,0-85,0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "150,150,150,150,150",
"temp-target" : "80,70,70,75,75",
You're telling it the upper limit for gpu engine is 850 or 800 depending on the card, so yeah it's listening to you.

gpu 0 should drop clock speed below 850 if the temp reaches over 80. How would you have written it?
hero member
Activity: 642
Merit: 500
If you're using linux + git, try the current git tree please to see if it fixes it.

Worked like a champ.  Thanks very much!  Sent a couple coins your way.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
I tried this but the engine clock on the first gpu get stuck at 850. That's the stock speed for the card, the other clocks get changed correctly. If I change it from within cg miner it works.

"auto-gpu": true,
"auto-fan" : true,
"gpu-engine" : "600-850,800-800,800-800,800-800,800-800",
"gpu-fan" : "100-100,0-85,0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "150,150,150,150,150",
"temp-target" : "80,70,70,75,75",
You're telling it the upper limit for gpu engine is 850 or 800 depending on the card, so yeah it's listening to you.
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Is it possible to turn it on for a specific gpu?
I've been running one with autogpu because it has a non reference fan. The rest I just use fan auto
This parameter is global and enables ADL-related routines in cgminer, it is not enabled on a by-card basis as you'd surely know had you RTFM'd first.
Normally, since auto-gpu is a prerequisite for card speed throttling in case of fan failure(1) you want it enabled anyway.

Notes:
(1) or the house catching fire - "Whew! Suddenly getting hot in here, better drop those clocks"    (I really couldn't abstain from making a bad joke, sorry)
I read the manual. It's not very clear on the subject. I want to get as much of the settings in the config as possible. I don't want the other cards to down clock. If the fans stop the pc will crash in a few seconds anyway.

Code:
"auto-gpu": true
"auto-fan" : true
gpu-engine : "600-800","800-800",800-800", etc
gpu-fan: "100-100", "60-85","60-85", etc

That should work.  It is saying turn auto gpu and auto fan ON.  range the first gpu but keep all others at 800.  keep first fan at 100 and range the others.

I recommend always using auto-gpu even if you want the clock static.  Having auto-gpu enabled allows cgminer to shutdown gpu if it overheats or put the fan into emergency (100% mode).



I tried this but the engine clock on the first gpu get stuck at 850. That's the stock speed for the card, the other clocks get changed correctly. If I change it from within cg miner it works.

"auto-gpu": true,
"auto-fan" : true,
"gpu-engine" : "600-850,800-800,800-800,800-800,800-800",
"gpu-fan" : "100-100,0-85,0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "150,150,150,150,150",
"temp-target" : "80,70,70,75,75",
member
Activity: 266
Merit: 36
If you're using linux + git, try the current git tree please to see if it fixes it.

Fixes it for me.  Thanks for delaying your extended break from coding!
sr. member
Activity: 383
Merit: 250
For the people that are having trouble compiling Cgminer on Windows from source, I have put together compile instructions. This is version 1.0 and will probably change over time.

http://pastebin.com/3pzivj32

Tested on both Windows 7 and Windows XP.
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Yes I've audited the code a million times and can't find the bug. For some reason some dual GPU cards the auto-fan control isn't doing anything and it's sitting at 85% at all times.
I think I figured it out:

ga->lasttemp seems to always contain the value for the temperature of the first GPU on the twin GPU card.  "temp" always contains the temperature of the GPU that is highest between the two.  Therefore, if the 2nd GPU on the card is hotter (and it almost always is on 5970s), it's never going to adjust.  ga->lasttemp needs to be modified to contain the value of the highest temp GPU between the two so that they're comparing "apples to apples".

The only reason my one rig is working and the other two aren't is because the 2nd GPU happens to stay a little cooler than the first.  The other two have hotter 2nd GPUs (as they should, since the hot air from the first GPU blows across it).

I'd make the change myself, but you really don't want to see my coding "skills".  I'm a good reverse-engineer, but I'm a shit coder (as far as keeping things clean goes).
If you're using linux + git, try the current git tree please to see if it fixes it.
donator
Activity: 1218
Merit: 1080
Gerald Davis
Code:
So I am trying to get 4x5970 working under Linux.

Aticonfig shows 8 GPUs but cgminer bombs out.
[code]
* 0. 17:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  1. 16:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  2. 13:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  3. 12:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  4. 0b:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  5. 0a:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  6. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  7. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

* - Default adapter

cgminer -n
Code:

X Error of failed request:  BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  140 (ATIFGLEXTENSION)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  67 ()
  Value in failed request:  0x17
  Serial number of failed request:  21
  Current serial number in output stream:  21

cgminer -D -T (w/ config file) has same error.

Unplugging PCIe power cables for one 5970 (6 active GPUs) works.[/code]
donator
Activity: 1218
Merit: 1080
Gerald Davis
Is it possible to turn it on for a specific gpu?
I've been running one with autogpu because it has a non reference fan. The rest I just use fan auto
This parameter is global and enables ADL-related routines in cgminer, it is not enabled on a by-card basis as you'd surely know had you RTFM'd first.
Normally, since auto-gpu is a prerequisite for card speed throttling in case of fan failure(1) you want it enabled anyway.

Notes:
(1) or the house catching fire - "Whew! Suddenly getting hot in here, better drop those clocks"    (I really couldn't abstain from making a bad joke, sorry)
I read the manual. It's not very clear on the subject. I want to get as much of the settings in the config as possible. I don't want the other cards to down clock. If the fans stop the pc will crash in a few seconds anyway.

Code:
"auto-gpu": true
"auto-fan" : true
gpu-engine : "600-800","800-800",800-800", etc
gpu-fan: "100-100", "60-85","60-85", etc

That should work.  It is saying turn auto gpu and auto fan ON.  range the first gpu but keep all others at 800.  keep first fan at 100 and range the others.

I recommend always using auto-gpu even if you want the clock static.  Having auto-gpu enabled allows cgminer to shutdown gpu if it overheats or put the fan into emergency (100% mode).
Vbs
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
I'll be taking an extended break from coding on cgminer shortly since most things are stable at the moment for my sanity.

A well deserved break! Grin

I'll keep tinkering with the phatk kernel when I have some free time. Meanwhile my best result for V2 (ignoring infinitesimally rare x==y==0), is:
Code:
#elif defined VECTORS2
uint result = !W[117].x ? W[3].x:0u;
result = !W[117].y ? W[3].y:result;
if (result)
output[FOUND] = output[NFLAG & result] = result;
(1357 ALUs, 67.65 min, 67.85 max, 67.75 avg)
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
Is it possible to turn it on for a specific gpu?
I've been running one with autogpu because it has a non reference fan. The rest I just use fan auto
This parameter is global and enables ADL-related routines in cgminer, it is not enabled on a by-card basis as you'd surely know had you RTFM'd first.
Normally, since auto-gpu is a prerequisite for card speed throttling in case of fan failure(1) you want it enabled anyway.

Notes:
(1) or the house catching fire - "Whew! Suddenly getting hot in here, better drop those clocks"    (I really couldn't abstain from making a bad joke, sorry)
I read the manual. It's not very clear on the subject. I want to get as much of the settings in the config as possible. I don't want the other cards to down clock. If the fans stop the pc will crash in a few seconds anyway.
sr. member
Activity: 383
Merit: 250
Are there any windows 7 miners that can help me with the following problem?

I have APP SDK 2.5.732.1, AMD driver 11.12 installed.

One Nvidia GPU as my primary video card (not mining), One ATI Radeon HD 5870 (mining) with cgminer 2.3.1-2.

If I disconnect the dummy plug from the 5870 or disconnect it via AMD Vision Engine Control Center or via Windows (as in not extend the desktop to it), Cgminer cannot read/control GPU Clock, GPU Memory Speed, or GPU Fan.

If I leave the dummy plug on and extend the desktop to that GPU, occasionally I get display driver stopped responding and Cgminer craps out (keeps running but cannot hash).

Anyway to make it work either without the dummy plug or with out the desktop being extended to the 5870?
hero member
Activity: 642
Merit: 500
(and thanks for all of the hard work lately!)
hero member
Activity: 642
Merit: 500
Well spotted, thanks.

I'll be taking an extended break from coding on cgminer shortly since most things are stable at the moment for my sanity.
np.  Understood.  You've been working a *lot* on it lately.  Smiley   A break is certainly in order...
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Yes I've audited the code a million times and can't find the bug. For some reason some dual GPU cards the auto-fan control isn't doing anything and it's sitting at 85% at all times.
I think I figured it out:

ga->lasttemp seems to always contain the value for the temperature of the first GPU on the twin GPU card.  "temp" always contains the temperature of the GPU that is highest between the two.  Therefore, if the 2nd GPU on the card is hotter (and it almost always is on 5970s), it's never going to adjust.  ga->lasttemp needs to be modified to contain the value of the highest temp GPU between the two so that they're comparing "apples to apples".

The only reason my one rig is working and the other two aren't is because the 2nd GPU happens to stay a little cooler than the first.  The other two have hotter 2nd GPUs (as they should, since the hot air from the first GPU blows across it).

I'd make the change myself, but you really don't want to see my coding "skills".  I'm a good reverse-engineer, but I'm a shit coder (as far as keeping things clean goes).
Well spotted, thanks.

I'll be taking an extended break from coding on cgminer shortly since most things are stable at the moment for my sanity.
hero member
Activity: 642
Merit: 500
Yes I've audited the code a million times and can't find the bug. For some reason some dual GPU cards the auto-fan control isn't doing anything and it's sitting at 85% at all times.
I think I figured it out:

ga->lasttemp seems to always contain the value for the temperature of the first GPU on the twin GPU card.  "temp" always contains the temperature of the GPU that is highest between the two.  Therefore, if the 2nd GPU on the card is hotter (and it almost always is on 5970s), it's never going to adjust.  ga->lasttemp needs to be modified to contain the value of the highest temp GPU between the two so that they're comparing "apples to apples".

The only reason my one rig is working and the other two aren't is because the 2nd GPU happens to stay a little cooler than the first.  The other two have hotter 2nd GPUs (as they should, since the hot air from the first GPU blows across it).

I'd make the change myself, but you really don't want to see my coding "skills".  I'm a good reverse-engineer, but I'm a shit coder (as far as keeping things clean goes).
full member
Activity: 210
Merit: 100
Is it possible to turn it on for a specific gpu?
I've been running one with autogpu because it has a non reference fan. The rest I just use fan auto
This parameter is global and enables ADL-related routines in cgminer, it is not enabled on a by-card basis as you'd surely know had you RTFM'd first.
Normally, since auto-gpu is a prerequisite for card speed throttling in case of fan failure(1) you want it enabled anyway.

Notes:
(1) or the house catching fire - "Whew! Suddenly getting hot in here, better drop those clocks"    (I really couldn't abstain from making a bad joke, sorry)
sr. member
Activity: 392
Merit: 250
I've been trying to get auto-gpu set in the config file with now luck. Can it even be turned on that way?

Code:
"auto-gpu" : true
Is it possible to turn it on for a specific gpu?
I've been running one with autogpu because it has a non reference fan. The rest I just use fan auto
hero member
Activity: 642
Merit: 500
Interesting...   The odd part is that it works perfectly on another rig with identical components.  :-/

Code:
cgminer version 2.3.1 - Started: [2012-02-25 14:55:46]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1489.6 (avg):1409.0 Mh/s | Q:2678  A:2381  R:6  HW:0  E:89%  U:20.00/m
 TQ: 4  ST: 5  SS: 20  DW: 156  NB: 18  LW: 0  GF: 34  RF: 28
 Connected to http://btcguild.com:8332 with LP as user bleh
 Block: 000003b6184ffd99b28ebe6d5d0c7f0a...  Started: [16:38:37]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  75.5C 3252RPM | 369.2/352.7Mh/s | A:589 R:0 HW:0 U:  4.95/m I: 8
 GPU 1:  73.5C 3252RPM | 369.5/352.8Mh/s | A:624 R:2 HW:0 U:  5.24/m I: 8
 GPU 2:  75.5C 2912RPM | 369.0/352.1Mh/s | A:589 R:2 HW:0 U:  4.95/m I: 8
 GPU 3:  75.5C 2912RPM | 369.1/351.5Mh/s | A:579 R:2 HW:0 U:  4.86/m I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-ck
legendary
Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631
Ruu \o/
Yes I've audited the code a million times and can't find the bug. For some reason some dual GPU cards the auto-fan control isn't doing anything and it's sitting at 85% at all times.
Jump to: