Author

Topic: [POT]PotCoin - Banking for the Legal Cannabis Industry ✦ ✦ ✦Grow With Us ✦ ✦ ✦ - page 125. (Read 920105 times)

full member
Activity: 241
Merit: 101
so is the generated POT per/day accurate here? curious.. https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/#!overview

It doesn't seem to be. I have a sheet tracking the generated coins in near real time and it shows us averaging more coins per day than that says.

how many  Smiley
legendary
Activity: 994
Merit: 1000
so is the generated POT per/day accurate here? curious.. https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/#!overview

It doesn't seem to be. I have a sheet tracking the generated coins in near real time and it shows us averaging more coins per day than that says.
full member
Activity: 241
Merit: 101
so is the generated POT per/day accurate here? curious.. https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/#!overview
legendary
Activity: 994
Merit: 1000
Can I buy pot with Potcoin? I live in Europe. How can I buy pot? Can I also buy Ketamine and other drugs with Potcoin? Wink

Thats probably not a good topic for discussion here. Potcoin is aiming for the legal weed markets around the world, not the illegal stuff.
I won't tell you to check out the darknet markets on reddit Smiley
legendary
Activity: 2310
Merit: 1422
Can I buy pot with Potcoin? I live in Europe. How can I buy pot? Can I also buy Ketamine and other drugs with Potcoin? Wink
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 504
Thanks again Chronikka! After reviewing I believe this fix would be beneficial to have in Potcoin. It better combines outputs faster. Will review again with a fresh set of eyes tomorrow and if it still looks good create a new version of the wallet with this code.

Will be hard for me to see it's effects with my two personal wallets as they will have already gone through the combining process....unless I use the official wallet version on them for a bit to allow my coins to combine larger and then use the 5K version to bring them back down. That will take time. Most likely will do this....

Glad I could help. I think this should improve staking performance slightly. In the current design not all outputs are treated equally for the purposes of recombining. There isn't really a purpose to this behavior that I can see. Why should anybody care that two outputs originated from the same hash and why would they want to prevent them from recombining?
legendary
Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000
It probably shouldn't have done that extra split below 5k, I am at a loss as to whats going on. Guess we will have to just watch and see how far it takes it.
Ninja edit: Maybe you left out a 0? Told it to split to 500 instead of 5k?

Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 2000000 * COIN;
changed to
Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 5000 * COIN;

We'll see if it keeps splitting.

Back to the discussion as to what we need this number to be permanently I suppose the number we select will determine how often it stakes (not to be confused with how MUCH it stakes). Since the number of staking blocks is currently on the low side it is advantageous to have more to keep the blockchain going at it's intended rate but....as more coins start staking having too low of a number will increase the difficulty and increase the chance of orphans.

Someone mentioned that there are POS coins that allow you to specify this number in the client? Send me a list of those coins and I can take a look at integrating that code into the Potcoin wallet (no promises!).

Without having looked at the Potcoin source code I don't know how much help I will be but there was a similiar issue with the Clams wallet that was solved by BTCtalk user dooglus.

Basically the problem was the nStakeCombineThreshold was being ignored if two outputs were from the same transaction. e.g. if the value of nStakeCombineThreshold is 5000 and you have an output at 8000 that splits into two 4000 outputs, it will split them again even though they're below the threshold. It was solved by allowing outputs from the same transaction to recombine. I don't know if this is the problem here but seeing the code posted reminded me about it. There was some discussion about it in the Clams thread at the time but I found this on Github that talks about it:

https://github.com/nochowderforyou/clams/issues/20

Nice find! Potcoin may be experiencing the same issue.

I submit these lines of code as comparison:

https://github.com/dooglus/clams/blob/58f3bbbc0607208dfae718a9f75f20974a64ee6a/src/wallet.cpp#L1734
https://github.com/potcoin/Potcoin/blob/44cb0b1ddbb6481b1da8d0ebd52513681badfe21/src/wallet.cpp#L1671

Which coin is POSv based on? Would like to look at that source as well.

Thanks again Chronikka! After reviewing I believe this fix would be beneficial to have in Potcoin. It better combines outputs faster. Will review again with a fresh set of eyes tomorrow and if it still looks good create a new version of the wallet with this code.

Will be hard for me to see it's effects with my two personal wallets as they will have already gone through the combining process....unless I use the official wallet version on them for a bit to allow my coins to combine larger and then use the 5K version to bring them back down. That will take time. Most likely will do this....
legendary
Activity: 994
Merit: 1000
Nice find! Potcoin may be experiencing the same issue.

I submit these lines of code as comparison:

https://github.com/dooglus/clams/blob/58f3bbbc0607208dfae718a9f75f20974a64ee6a/src/wallet.cpp#L1734
https://github.com/potcoin/Potcoin/blob/44cb0b1ddbb6481b1da8d0ebd52513681badfe21/src/wallet.cpp#L1671

Which coin is POSv based on? Would like to look at that source as well.

I'm pretty sure PoSv was created for Reddcoin. I found the same line from the POT wallet in the Reddcoin source:

https://github.com/reddcoin-project/reddcoin/blob/master/src/wallet.cpp#l1671

Also in my 5 minutes of googling for Reddcoin I found a nice website that explains PoSv for any of you who want to understand how its different than POS:

http://agroff.github.io/posv/

Yes, POSv was designed by the lead dev for reddcoin, though he has since stepped down from that position.

POSv is different in one very simple way, the accelerated aging of coins for the first 14 days or so, after that it slows down. This gives people an incentive to move the coin around via transacting with it rather than stashing it under their mattress.  The only major difference between 1.0 and 2.0 that I am aware of is the sharing of the stake rate for the entire money supply with the coins actively staking, rather than everyone only earning 5-6% and the inflation rate being tied to the # of active coins. With 2.0, you know that the stake rate is going to be 5-6%/year for the entire coins supply, and the individual gets a higher stake rate as incentive to support the network rather than leave the coins on an exchange or offline.
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 504
Nice find! Potcoin may be experiencing the same issue.

I submit these lines of code as comparison:

https://github.com/dooglus/clams/blob/58f3bbbc0607208dfae718a9f75f20974a64ee6a/src/wallet.cpp#L1734
https://github.com/potcoin/Potcoin/blob/44cb0b1ddbb6481b1da8d0ebd52513681badfe21/src/wallet.cpp#L1671

Which coin is POSv based on? Would like to look at that source as well.

I'm pretty sure PoSv was created for Reddcoin. I found the same line from the POT wallet in the Reddcoin source:

https://github.com/reddcoin-project/reddcoin/blob/master/src/wallet.cpp#l1671

Also in my 5 minutes of googling for Reddcoin I found a nice website that explains PoSv for any of you who want to understand how its different than POS:

http://agroff.github.io/posv/
legendary
Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000
It probably shouldn't have done that extra split below 5k, I am at a loss as to whats going on. Guess we will have to just watch and see how far it takes it.
Ninja edit: Maybe you left out a 0? Told it to split to 500 instead of 5k?

Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 2000000 * COIN;
changed to
Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 5000 * COIN;

We'll see if it keeps splitting.

Back to the discussion as to what we need this number to be permanently I suppose the number we select will determine how often it stakes (not to be confused with how MUCH it stakes). Since the number of staking blocks is currently on the low side it is advantageous to have more to keep the blockchain going at it's intended rate but....as more coins start staking having too low of a number will increase the difficulty and increase the chance of orphans.

Someone mentioned that there are POS coins that allow you to specify this number in the client? Send me a list of those coins and I can take a look at integrating that code into the Potcoin wallet (no promises!).

Without having looked at the Potcoin source code I don't know how much help I will be but there was a similiar issue with the Clams wallet that was solved by BTCtalk user dooglus.

Basically the problem was the nStakeCombineThreshold was being ignored if two outputs were from the same transaction. e.g. if the value of nStakeCombineThreshold is 5000 and you have an output at 8000 that splits into two 4000 outputs, it will split them again even though they're below the threshold. It was solved by allowing outputs from the same transaction to recombine. I don't know if this is the problem here but seeing the code posted reminded me about it. There was some discussion about it in the Clams thread at the time but I found this on Github that talks about it:

https://github.com/nochowderforyou/clams/issues/20

Nice find! Potcoin may be experiencing the same issue.

I submit these lines of code as comparison:

https://github.com/dooglus/clams/blob/58f3bbbc0607208dfae718a9f75f20974a64ee6a/src/wallet.cpp#L1734
https://github.com/potcoin/Potcoin/blob/44cb0b1ddbb6481b1da8d0ebd52513681badfe21/src/wallet.cpp#L1671

Which coin is POSv based on? Would like to look at that source as well.
legendary
Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000
It probably shouldn't have done that extra split below 5k, I am at a loss as to whats going on. Guess we will have to just watch and see how far it takes it.
Ninja edit: Maybe you left out a 0? Told it to split to 500 instead of 5k?

Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 2000000 * COIN;
changed to
Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 5000 * COIN;

We'll see if it keeps splitting.

Back to the discussion as to what we need this number to be permanently I suppose the number we select will determine how often it stakes (not to be confused with how MUCH it stakes). Since the number of staking blocks is currently on the low side it is advantageous to have more to keep the blockchain going at it's intended rate but....as more coins start staking having too low of a number will increase the difficulty and increase the chance of orphans.

Someone mentioned that there are POS coins that allow you to specify this number in the client? Send me a list of those coins and I can take a look at integrating that code into the Potcoin wallet (no promises!).

Without having looked at the Potcoin source code I don't know how much help I will be but there was a similiar issue with the Clams wallet that was solved by BTCtalk user dooglus.

Basically the problem was the nStakeCombineThreshold was being ignored if two outputs were from the same transaction. e.g. if the value of nStakeCombineThreshold is 5000 and you have an output at 8000 that splits into two 4000 outputs, it will split them again even though they're below the threshold. It was solved by allowing outputs from the same transaction to recombine. I don't know if this is the problem here but seeing the code posted reminded me about it. There was some discussion about it in the Clams thread at the time but I found this on Github that talks about it:

https://github.com/nochowderforyou/clams/issues/20

In theory, would it not look to recombine those smaller inputs at a future stake? For the time being the more blocks we can get staking the better for everyone. We want the difficulty high so that people stake less often but receive a larger payout when they do.
https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/tx.dws?2101176.htm

^ it recombined
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 504
Quote
In theory, would it not look to recombine those smaller inputs at a future stake? For the time being the more blocks we can get staking the better for everyone. We want the difficulty high so that people stake less often but receive a larger payout when they do.

I think so yes. But then again something still doesn't really make sense here. If the outputs are from the same transaction then fine they don't recombine. But if they're below the threshold why are they splitting again? I would think they should do nothing in that case, just sit there. No splitting, no recombining. But it appears that doesn't happen.
legendary
Activity: 994
Merit: 1000
It probably shouldn't have done that extra split below 5k, I am at a loss as to whats going on. Guess we will have to just watch and see how far it takes it.
Ninja edit: Maybe you left out a 0? Told it to split to 500 instead of 5k?

Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 2000000 * COIN;
changed to
Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 5000 * COIN;

We'll see if it keeps splitting.

Back to the discussion as to what we need this number to be permanently I suppose the number we select will determine how often it stakes (not to be confused with how MUCH it stakes). Since the number of staking blocks is currently on the low side it is advantageous to have more to keep the blockchain going at it's intended rate but....as more coins start staking having too low of a number will increase the difficulty and increase the chance of orphans.

Someone mentioned that there are POS coins that allow you to specify this number in the client? Send me a list of those coins and I can take a look at integrating that code into the Potcoin wallet (no promises!).

Without having looked at the Potcoin source code I don't know how much help I will be but there was a similiar issue with the Clams wallet that was solved by BTCtalk user dooglus.

Basically the problem was the nStakeCombineThreshold was being ignored if two outputs were from the same transaction. e.g. if the value of nStakeCombineThreshold is 5000 and you have an output at 8000 that splits into two 4000 outputs, it will split them again even though they're below the threshold. It was solved by allowing outputs from the same transaction to recombine. I don't know if this is the problem here but seeing the code posted reminded me about it. There was some discussion about it in the Clams thread at the time but I found this on Github that talks about it:

https://github.com/nochowderforyou/clams/issues/20

In theory, would it not look to recombine those smaller inputs at a future stake? For the time being the more blocks we can get staking the better for everyone. We want the difficulty high so that people stake less often but receive a larger payout when they do.
hero member
Activity: 658
Merit: 504
It probably shouldn't have done that extra split below 5k, I am at a loss as to whats going on. Guess we will have to just watch and see how far it takes it.
Ninja edit: Maybe you left out a 0? Told it to split to 500 instead of 5k?

Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 2000000 * COIN;
changed to
Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 5000 * COIN;

We'll see if it keeps splitting.

Back to the discussion as to what we need this number to be permanently I suppose the number we select will determine how often it stakes (not to be confused with how MUCH it stakes). Since the number of staking blocks is currently on the low side it is advantageous to have more to keep the blockchain going at it's intended rate but....as more coins start staking having too low of a number will increase the difficulty and increase the chance of orphans.

Someone mentioned that there are POS coins that allow you to specify this number in the client? Send me a list of those coins and I can take a look at integrating that code into the Potcoin wallet (no promises!).

Without having looked at the Potcoin source code I don't know how much help I will be but there was a similiar issue with the Clams wallet that was solved by BTCtalk user dooglus.

Basically the problem was the nStakeCombineThreshold was being ignored if two outputs were from the same transaction. e.g. if the value of nStakeCombineThreshold is 5000 and you have an output at 8000 that splits into two 4000 outputs, it will split them again even though they're below the threshold. It was solved by allowing outputs from the same transaction to recombine. I don't know if this is the problem here but seeing the code posted reminded me about it. There was some discussion about it in the Clams thread at the time but I found this on Github that talks about it:

https://github.com/nochowderforyou/clams/issues/20
legendary
Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000
It probably shouldn't have done that extra split below 5k, I am at a loss as to whats going on. Guess we will have to just watch and see how far it takes it.
Ninja edit: Maybe you left out a 0? Told it to split to 500 instead of 5k?

Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 2000000 * COIN;
changed to
Code:
int64 nStakeCombineThreshold = 5000 * COIN;

We'll see if it keeps splitting.

Back to the discussion as to what we need this number to be permanently I suppose the number we select will determine how often it stakes (not to be confused with how MUCH it stakes). Since the number of staking blocks is currently on the low side it is advantageous to have more to keep the blockchain going at it's intended rate but....as more coins start staking having too low of a number will increase the difficulty and increase the chance of orphans.

Someone mentioned that there are POS coins that allow you to specify this number in the client? Send me a list of those coins and I can take a look at integrating that code into the Potcoin wallet (no promises!).
legendary
Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000
Kaspa
whoever buys up that massive sell on polo would be getting a heck of a deal, any other time trying to accumulate that much would either take forever or drive the price up buying from the sell wall.

 
legendary
Activity: 994
Merit: 1000
My two quick stakes temporarily brought that address to #1 on cryptoid Cheesy

It further split into amounts under 5K:

https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/tx.dws?2099133.htm
https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/tx.dws?2099143.htm

Will make an announcement post later as I have other commitments at the moment. Quick question...how do I get my trust level up here on BTCTalk? Maybe it would put people at ease using this version of the wallet?

Edit: I can make available other version of the wallet with amounts different than 5K as that may be too low once more people start staking. We still need to find a good number to use before I submit a pull request to the main code. 100K?

It probably shouldn't have done that extra split below 5k, I am at a loss as to whats going on. Guess we will have to just watch and see how far it takes it.
Ninja edit: Maybe you left out a 0? Told it to split to 500 instead of 5k?

As for your trust level, not sure. We can post about it here and on reddit, with me and maybe others saying that we trust you might be enough to get people to take the chance.
legendary
Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000
My two quick stakes temporarily brought that address to #1 on cryptoid Cheesy

It further split into amounts under 5K:

https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/tx.dws?2099133.htm
https://chainz.cryptoid.info/pot/tx.dws?2099143.htm

Will make an announcement post later as I have other commitments at the moment. Quick question...how do I get my trust level up here on BTCTalk? Maybe it would put people at ease using this version of the wallet?

Edit: I can make available other version of the wallet with amounts different than 5K as that may be too low once more people start staking. We still need to find a good number to use before I submit a pull request to the main code. 100K?
legendary
Activity: 994
Merit: 1000
Just launched and unlocked my wallet running the 5k "mod". I have 2 balances in this particular wallet, 21k+ and 100k+, it will likely split them both in half and keep doing so every time it stakes until we hit the 5k+ chunks.

I will leave it unlocked and staking for the next day or so, let the "splitter" do its thing.

Just launched my 10K wallet that had staked once already with the 5K version of the wallet. It just staked twice with two 5K blocks! I originally didn't think it was working since the first stake took the entire 10K but it required that first stake to start splitting it up.

Going to test with my 100K wallet now...

With the 100k wallets we will need to do some manual splitting to get them to 5k*X, It will split in half each time so 50k, 25k, 12.5k, 6.25k, that will leave us a few blocks short of the desired 20*5k.

Thank you for this Smiley. I haven't lost any coins and didn't expect to, so I figure its ready to roll out to the masses. Get as many people using it as we can, give the network a nice solid shot of adrenaline.
legendary
Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000
Just launched and unlocked my wallet running the 5k "mod". I have 2 balances in this particular wallet, 21k+ and 100k+, it will likely split them both in half and keep doing so every time it stakes until we hit the 5k+ chunks.

I will leave it unlocked and staking for the next day or so, let the "splitter" do its thing.

Just launched my 10K wallet that had staked once already with the 5K version of the wallet. It just staked twice with two 5K blocks! I originally didn't think it was working since the first stake took the entire 10K but it required that first stake to start splitting it up.

Going to test with my 100K wallet now...
Jump to: