Pages:
Author

Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner - page 2. (Read 1238802 times)

legendary
Activity: 1001
Merit: 1005
January 26, 2013, 04:45:14 AM
Code:
python ./poclbm.py  http://xxx:[email protected]:8332 -f 30 -v -w 256 -d 0 --platform=0

WARNING: no adl3 module found (github.com/mjmvisser/adl3), temperature control is disabled

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./poclbm.py", line 84, in
    import BFLMiner
  File "/home/arm/mining/poclbm/BFLMiner.py", line 4, in
    from ioutil import find_udev, find_serial_by_id, find_com_ports
  File "/home/arm/mining/poclbm/ioutil.py", line 2, in
    from serial.tools import list_ports
ImportError: No module named tools

What's wrong? why poclbm doesn't work?
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
January 24, 2013, 12:22:04 PM
POCLBM doesn't look so popular anymore

Poclbm is VERY popular, it is default backend in GUIminer - the most widespread miner around. But GUIminer has it own builds.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
January 24, 2013, 05:44:24 AM
Is this still under development? I see an update or two quite recently at github, but no posts here in ages.

Yes, I still maintain the miner. It is now modular, i.e. you can implement your own hardware or work-source types. I just haven't released a py2exe recently (since BFL support actually) - POCLBM doesn't look so popular anymore and works fine for anyone able to setup python + pip and pull sources from github.

Whatever you improve for MacOS is welcome.
newbie
Activity: 5
Merit: 0
January 23, 2013, 03:25:52 AM
Is this still under development? I see an update or two quite recently at github, but no posts here in ages. I've managed to get vectors mode running on an OS X Lion Mac after much fiddling around and annoyance, and I'd like to either contribute back my cheap hack, or talk to someone who can help figure out the real way to fix the problem.

But if no one's actually going to care, I'll probably go back to banging my head against BFGMiner/CGMiner until either the bugs break or I do....
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 100
October 11, 2012, 03:19:25 AM
Just installed a new version of miner
on one of 4 5870 periodically got error:"You are reconnecting to long poll too fast" with some degradation of hashrate  Huh
after restart - all ok... strange situation...

indeed... do you still get that error from time to time?
No, because I'm rolled back to old version, because of degradation of hashrate in new one. The degradation was seen by me even if there is no error at all, so I'll wait for another new version and compare again with stable ver (feb 2012)
full member
Activity: 195
Merit: 100
October 10, 2012, 06:08:55 PM
Just installed a new version of miner
on one of 4 5870 periodically got error:"You are reconnecting to long poll too fast" with some degradation of hashrate  Huh
after restart - all ok... strange situation...

indeed... do you still get that error from time to time?
full member
Activity: 231
Merit: 100
October 05, 2012, 03:56:38 PM
Just installed a new version of miner
on one of 4 5870 periodically got error:"You are reconnecting to long poll too fast" with some degradation of hashrate  Huh
after restart - all ok... strange situation...
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
September 29, 2012, 07:17:20 PM
can someone show me the line of code where the nonce is set

and the line of code where is nonce is incremented please show me the exact line as i know the function's it is in (mining_thread)

and can anyone tell me what does poclbm do after it has gone through all the nonce from 1 billion to 4 billion. what does it increment next. (and can you point out the line in code where it is incremented)
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
September 24, 2012, 01:31:13 PM
is there a source code of poclbm with comment's
full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
September 24, 2012, 01:26:20 PM
where poclbm get the work from pool or bitcoin-qt

HttpTransport.py:getwork() or StratumTransport.py:queue_message

Quote
where poclbm increment the nonce and the coinbase

BitcoinMiner.py:mining_thread(), coinbase can be modified only on Stratum, it is StratumTransport.py:increment_nonce()

Quote
where poclbm compares the hash with the current target

BitcoinMiner.py:diff1_found() or Servers.py:send()

Quote
where poclbm send back the data to the pool or bitcoin-qt

Servers.py:send() or HttpTransport.py:send_internal() or StratumTransport.py:send_internal()

thank's
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
September 24, 2012, 11:36:29 AM
where poclbm get the work from pool or bitcoin-qt

HttpTransport.py:getwork() or StratumTransport.py:queue_message

Quote
where poclbm increment the nonce and the coinbase

BitcoinMiner.py:mining_thread(), coinbase can be modified only on Stratum, it is StratumTransport.py:increment_nonce()

Quote
where poclbm compares the hash with the current target

BitcoinMiner.py:diff1_found() or Servers.py:send()

Quote
where poclbm send back the data to the pool or bitcoin-qt

Servers.py:send() or HttpTransport.py:send_internal() or StratumTransport.py:send_internal()
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
September 24, 2012, 11:21:08 AM
I don't understand your question. If you can read python, you'll spend something like three minutes to find this out yourself. If you cannot read python, any advice to you is useless...

Can anyone show me the place in the poclbm source code:


where poclbm get the work from pool or bitcoin-qt

where poclbm increment the nonce and the coinbase

where poclbm compares the hash with the current target

where poclbm send back the data to the pool or bitcoin-qt

full member
Activity: 140
Merit: 100
September 24, 2012, 09:50:04 AM
Can anyone show me the place in the poclbm source code:


where poclbm get the work from pool or bitcoin-qt

where poclbm increment the nonce and the coinbase

where poclbm compares the hash with the current target

where poclbm send back the data to the pool or bitcoin-qt
legendary
Activity: 1750
Merit: 1007
September 22, 2012, 09:01:06 PM
Thank you m0mchil for this release. I can confirm that it works with Stratum nicely now.

Yes, thank you m0mchil for being the first to adopt the Stratum protocol.  I finally edited one of my pool servers to include an x-stratum header and poclbm redirected nicely.
legendary
Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097
September 22, 2012, 11:10:54 AM
Thank you m0mchil for this release. I can confirm that it works with Stratum nicely now.
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
September 20, 2012, 10:53:17 AM
Again, new version is up. Main difference is it will always prefer Stratum now - for example if there is http:// specified, but server returns stratum address, it will be used.
legendary
Activity: 3578
Merit: 1090
Think for yourself
September 19, 2012, 11:18:39 AM
As always, some small fixes were needed. Please update with the latest version.

Hmm, I just downloaded today's build and am getting the same results as yesterdays.
Sam

Edit: I looked at my command line again and changed the upper case characters in my worker name to lower case and now it is working.

Thanks,
Sam
full member
Activity: 171
Merit: 127
September 19, 2012, 10:34:05 AM
As always, some small fixes were needed. Please update with the latest version.
legendary
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
September 19, 2012, 08:17:00 AM
A new version is up with support for Stratum. See https://bitcointalksearch.org/topic/ann-stratum-mining-protocol-asic-ready-108533

I am also planning multi-miner support (GPU) as well as FPGA support.
Any ETA on GBT support?
legendary
Activity: 3578
Merit: 1090
Think for yourself
September 19, 2012, 07:38:45 AM
Any ideas if I'm doing something wrong, if something is wrong with the new poclbm or something with the stratum pool?

I was able to connect to BTC Guild with the standard protocol and port and it does work.  So the problem seems to lie somewhere in the stratum implementation.
Thanks,
Sam

Make sure when connecting to BTC Guild's stratum server, you use stratum:// as the prefix, not http://

Yep, did that.

Some guy on the BTC Guild thread made the same suggestion. Smiley
Thanks,
Sam
Pages:
Jump to: