Pages:
Author

Topic: The Lightning Network FAQ - page 72. (Read 32053 times)

Activity: 1358
Merit: 850
November 08, 2019, 03:00:31 AM
LN will never be solution, Satoshi said that onchain transactions will support miners in the future, with LN there is no fees for the real miners that support blockchain, with time the fee of one ON-CHAIN transaction will be huge.

LN still need on-chain transaction to open and close channel
As long as I am not closing a channel, I can settle any transaction. Won't it reduce the on-chain transaction heavily? Which is good in some case though but still cfbtcman question is there.

Well, I am a newbie in LN, not much old in Bitcoin as well.

For me, until now, LN is-

Here- Bob (X) is a client who used to shop with BTC. Since the fee is high, he is looking for alternative way, hence he got LN.
He knows if he creates a channel with Y(Route?)- who already have channel with a lot of Bob's favorite shop, he can settle a lot of payments in most of the shops he is used to go daily.

I am trying to learn it from the perspective of a client of a lot of shops so that I can pay micro payments with bitcoin.
Please correct my above statement, for last 3/4 days, I am spending a lot of time into LN. Have read some parts of the whitepaper here- https://lightning.network/lightning-network-paper.pdf

Activity: 279
Merit: 435
November 07, 2019, 04:40:18 AM
I'm glad that you are pleased with C-lightning  Smiley
Yay! It finally works!  Cheesy

I built a network structure with an lnd node as a main hub and many c-lightning nodes as points.
The hub has a few channels with well connected nodes and points have channels only with the hub.
I just sent a few transactions from outside to one of my points and the hub transferred the payments and collected fees.

(A)------>(B)----->(C)----->(D)