Pages:
Author

Topic: Why I wouldn't buy Ledger Nano S ever again? - page 5. (Read 1261 times)

legendary
Activity: 1792
Merit: 1296
keep walking, Johnnie
December 05, 2021, 03:43:43 PM
1. Closed Source - well, you probably knew about it when you bought this wallet, nothing has changed through all these years. For some people it's not big deal. If someone discovered that Ledger is closed source only after they have bought it, it's their fault, not Ledger.

Closed Source - Yes, it doesn't matter to users, like me, for example. Even if the code were open source, it would not change anything for me, since I am not an expert in this. I think many of the users, like me, are not technically savvy in codes.

But wouldn't you agree with me that this poses a potential threat? It cannot be ruled out that the company deliberately or unintentionally (due to access by intruders. This has already happened with Ledger) may make changes to the source code that could cause damage to users' funds. The saddest part of this may be that it may be too late until the problem is discovered.

Common users want security, but closed source doesn't inspire confidence.

2. Small Memory. It's always been case with Ledger. Install/Uninstall is a bit inconvenient thing, but for peoplewho keep BTC mainly I think it's not an issue. But if you keep 1032 different coins/tokens, you can get Nano X with bigger memory.

Small Memory. - It is not clear to me whether it is technically difficult to increase the device's memory. The amount of memory that Ledger offers is ridiculous for 2021. 138Kb would have been acceptable in the 80s and 90s  Smiley.

3. Display dies after few years. I haven't heard about this issue before this topic and I guess it doesn't happens often. Keeping device properly can help to avoid such issue.

Display - It's the same here. Aren't there other more reliable options? It seemed to me that in our age of technological progress, a solution can always be found.