Pages:
Author

Topic: [XPM] Working on a GPU miner for Primecoin, new thread :) - page 41. (Read 166578 times)

Activity: 165
Merit: 100
Just mining my own business...

Why not CUDA?

CUDA is not cross-platform. It only works on Nvidia cards, but AMD cards are the ones with the best performance. OpenCL works on all GPUs.

You might want to investigate this some more.  It is very true that AMD (ATI) cards blow Nvidia cards away when doing SHA-256 or scrypt processing, but primecoin uses a VERY different 'hashing' algo.  It is possible that Nvidia may process primes just as well (probably a good topic for a separate thread - any takers?)  I'm far from an expert (or even conversant) on either architecture, but until someone investigates it, it's not fair to make such a statement based on a different problem set. 

Of course, CUDA still is not cross platform, and any miner worth his salt is using AMD cards already, so that is still a valid reason for discounting CUDA. 
Activity: 115
Merit: 10
Just saw this thread, planning to donate some, is it too late?

Also, will your miner work on Windows? I have only cgminer experience so far.
Activity: 53
Merit: 0
Thanks for the new thread and status update. Here's to hoping we get to see a working gpu miner before September Cheesy
Activity: 406
Merit: 250
75 BTC man. You made a KILLING.
Activity: 168
Secondly, is this a true "miner" or is it solo-mining client replacement?
It's a true miner, a fully standalone program.

So does that mean the requirement for a pool, or simply connecting via RPC?
Activity: 104
will the miner support multiple GPUs?
Yes.

It's a true miner, a fully standalone program.
Activity: 168
I forgot to ask in the other thread: will the miner support multiple GPUs?
Activity: 210
I not use any kind of messenger beware of scammers
Keep up the good work (not bothered by the delays myself)  Grin
Activity: 182
Yep, but I have plans for the weekend. I'll try to get as much work done as possible before that.