Author

Topic: ★ ZEIT ★ [COMMUNITY & KNIGHTS] [ULTRA LOW INFLATION] [MICRO-PAYMENTS] - page 162. (Read 1009280 times)

legendary
Activity: 1894
Merit: 1001
Since there is a Wealth of Linux Knowledge in here,

If I was going to learn a version of Linux,
These are the choices, I have been presented with
Debian, CentOS, Ubuntu, Fedora, Scientific Linux and OpenSUS

Which do you guys recommend and why?

Thanks in Advance.

Cool

it is not a question of if, it is mandatory to acquire an understanding of linux, if you think you want know anything about computers.   Wink
i'm  only a n00b level user myself, though i started playing with it back in 2k2.
currently i can't seem  to install 'nix on my pc due to hardware  issues. (well i did manage to install the latest edition of fedora, but there seem to be video driver issues with that os, so since it might not be a good choice for mining, i'm still looking for an OS i can install)

debian is the root of many spinoffs like ubuntu, has tons of free software built for it (.deb)

fedora is the testbed for red hat linux, i like it, it's fun and easy to use and understand. also root of many

i agree ubuntu is prolly easiest os to get into from windows, but i've heard rumors of embeded spyware, havn't  researched it enough to say more but beware...
it also has some interesting spinoffs, and tonnes of clones...
of which i have artistx on my lappy, running an older version i've not upgraded in order to keep the old gnome2 desktop environment. with gnome/compiz fusion you can create a multi-desktop environment unequaled anywhere  Cheesy artistx comes with almost every open spource program there is, related to media/graphics. out of the boxit runs just great

http://linuxtracker.org/

http://distrowatch.com/

http://livecdlist.com/

so also you need to think about which desktop environment to use