Pages:
Author

Topic: Any word on amd vega hash rates? - page 92. (Read 202725 times)

newbie
Activity: 74
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 07:18:32 AM
thanks for sharing, i have found the same process when i look at the other hbcc-activate program yesterday !
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 07:13:30 AM
I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's a fix for reduced hashrate and a method for running 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable it.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable it.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

New Procedure

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Create a batch file in the same folder as devcon.exe with the following lines in it:
Code:
cd %~dp0
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable "PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F"
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe enable "PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F"
3. This will selectively disable/enable all the Vega cards you currently have in your system. Thanks to bytiges for noting that killing all the display adapters might not be a good idea for those using iGPU.
4. Run the batch file as an administrator at login, or whenever you lose hashrate on your cards. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

Outdated Procedure

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
sr. member
Activity: 294
Merit: 250
October 27, 2017, 06:32:20 AM
Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..

no wonder they are so cheap.  Huh
member
Activity: 275
Merit: 11
October 27, 2017, 05:49:21 AM
During the sunday, I will try new driver with 10x sapphire rx vega 64 limited edition on single mobo 110 btc+.
I am courious if I can use the file for register mod powerplay for blockchain driver on this new one too.
legendary
Activity: 4256
Merit: 8551
'The right to privacy matters'
October 26, 2017, 11:24:48 PM
Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419
pretty good price.

Maybe I will grab it.
legendary
Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076
A humble Siberian miner
October 26, 2017, 11:24:07 PM
Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..
full member
Activity: 305
Merit: 148
Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!
October 26, 2017, 11:01:27 PM
Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419
full member
Activity: 305
Merit: 148
Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!
October 26, 2017, 07:15:57 PM

Quote

My two vegas were too loud for the office even with music playing so had to move them to the hallway. Living room for me would be a nono.

The main issue is that once you downclock the gpu and overclock the ram the card gets stupid and allows the ram to reach 65 degrees at which point it trottles thus reducing performance. To overcome this you then need to set the fan to at least 3000rpm which gets quite noisy!

So I would certainly say avoid vegas if noise is an issue...

Or try this maybe:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THaMlkNDzYs
member
Activity: 115
Merit: 10
October 26, 2017, 05:18:31 PM


I have a question of the ppl having stable hashrate over or close to 1900+ H/s - what kind of settings are you using with VEGA 64 ?

I have trouble getting it stable at 2016/1600, so I am using 1900/1600, but on the  cards that are fixed with the first Oldcomer's registry mod I get around 1800 ea. The other one is slightly better, but I need to fix the registry on it too, as its probably consuming more power so - can you suggest any really good settings (and maybe link to reg file) ?
newbie
Activity: 65
Merit: 0
October 26, 2017, 11:46:01 AM
How loud is it when optimized wattage? Possible in living room or office?

Depends on how sensible you are to sounds, that being fan noise, you would certainly be able to hear it.

You need to reduce the voltage of the GPU and also reduce the frequency. The lower the power consumption, the lower the noise.
member
Activity: 318
Merit: 16
October 26, 2017, 11:24:06 AM
How loud is it when optimized wattage? Possible in living room or office?

Depends on how sensible you are to sounds, that being fan noise, you would certainly be able to hear it.
member
Activity: 118
Merit: 10
October 26, 2017, 06:46:49 AM
How loud is it when optimized wattage? Possible in living room or office?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
October 26, 2017, 05:27:12 AM
Why such on experiments with noname PSU? Why not take branded one?

If it PSU, why different LED indication on cards?

How many risers per one SATA or molex power cable? All 4 risers or 2 and 2?

One riser(molex) per one cable.
member
Activity: 146
Merit: 10
October 26, 2017, 04:50:40 AM
Why such on experiments with noname PSU? Why not take branded one?

If it PSU, why different LED indication on cards?

How many risers per one SATA or molex power cable? All 4 risers or 2 and 2?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
October 26, 2017, 03:45:28 AM
Why such on experiments with noname PSU? Why not take branded one?

If it PSU, why different LED indication on cards?
newbie
Activity: 20
Merit: 0
October 26, 2017, 02:26:10 AM
Why such on experiments with noname PSU? Why not take branded one?

I tried some on "named PSUs" / coolermaster / corsair / fsp / silverstone.

So far, the verdict is that I have no luck with Coolermaster / Silverstone. RMA them fast though it takes about 2-3 weeks for them to send me a replacement.

I'm also an idiot for running more than 4 vegas on a single mobo :-P
full member
Activity: 1148
Merit: 132
October 26, 2017, 12:44:06 AM
I have three vega 56 with 64 bios

seems they can do 1105 mem and 38 eth and 150 lbr or 40 eth solo

the core voltage says .91-.96 in GPUZ , you were getting lower voltages ? I have the same drivers as you.

Also on two cards only half the red lights are lit up but on the other one all the lights are lit up ? wtf ?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
October 26, 2017, 12:29:20 AM
I need a help.

My rig is Asus Z270-P/Celeron/16Gb/ Vega56 with 64 BIOS

I use this instruction:
https://www.reddit.com/r/MoneroMining/comments/74hjqn/monero_and_vega_the_definitive_guide/?sort=new

If I install 2 GPU - 130W per card
If I install 4 GPU - 160W per card

Why?
i think that, psu efficiency.

If I install 2 GPU - not all red LED on cards are lights.
If I install 4 GPU - all red LED are lights.
member
Activity: 195
Merit: 15
October 25, 2017, 02:36:09 PM
Why such on experiments with noname PSU? Why not take branded one?

I guess answer is simple - price.
i think so too. it is  about the same that employ DC-DC inverter.
i use blade server's PSU with convert unit,like this.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item-img/XT-XINTE-10-6Pin-Port-Breakout-Adapter-Board-With-50CM-18AWG-6Pin-Male-to-6-2Pin/32833352157.html?spm=2114.10010108.1000017.1.20923c38u2yR8K
member
Activity: 146
Merit: 10
October 25, 2017, 02:24:55 PM
Why such on experiments with noname PSU? Why not take branded one?

I guess answer is simple - price.
Pages:
Jump to: