Pages:
Author

Topic: Any word on amd vega hash rates? - page 91. (Read 202725 times)

full member
Activity: 350
Merit: 100
October 27, 2017, 10:40:33 PM
I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938

Thank's it's working great.  So it's more a bug in the driver with the HBCC option. With this in my batch, i don't need anymore to disable/enable HBCC on each card, i have full XMR hashing speed (1900 by card / 4 VEGA 56@64BIOS)


what's your power play table settings , fan  speed and GPU  temp?
newbie
Activity: 84
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 07:02:27 PM
Disable-enable method works well but my hashrate drops in few minutes to 11500H/s to ~9500H/s for the 6*vega56@64 rig.
Any idea?

And thank you for the information.
hero member
Activity: 729
Merit: 513
October 27, 2017, 04:32:31 PM
Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..

Did you follow the guide there?

https://www.reddit.com/r/MoneroMining/comments/74hjqn/monero_and_vega_the_definitive_guide/?limit=500

I got the same issue at first, then I realize it is because I connect my monitor with this vega card. I use another motherboard with intel igpu and everything works great since then.

That's right! You have to connect the monitor to the IGPU. If you connect it to the Vega's then it's unstable and the system crash. 
member
Activity: 115
Merit: 10
October 27, 2017, 03:56:56 PM
Is OverdriveNTool working good? There has been reports, that changing values with it doesn't really do much (same as Wattmann). But I guess it has been updated and working fine since then?

OverdriveNTool is working fine for me, but I basically only use it to adjust voltages. I use the registry mod for GPU and MEM clocks.

I can run the batch file as admin manually, and it works great.

When I run it in my startup folder it doesn't run as admin and doesn't work.

How are you getting it to run on startup as admin?

Use the task scheduler to execute your batch file at startup. See here: https://superuser.com/a/929227

I have one card that does not like mods, the other 5 are stable. But I really like to fix the core value of this one somehow, as its lights are constantly blinking.
member
Activity: 202
Merit: 10
Eloncoin.org - Mars, here we come!
October 27, 2017, 03:19:58 PM
Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..

Did you follow the guide there?

https://www.reddit.com/r/MoneroMining/comments/74hjqn/monero_and_vega_the_definitive_guide/?limit=500

I got the same issue at first, then I realize it is because I connect my monitor with this vega card. I use another motherboard with intel igpu and everything works great since then.
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 01:46:30 PM
Is OverdriveNTool working good? There has been reports, that changing values with it doesn't really do much (same as Wattmann). But I guess it has been updated and working fine since then?

OverdriveNTool is working fine for me, but I basically only use it to adjust voltages. I use the registry mod for GPU and MEM clocks.

I can run the batch file as admin manually, and it works great.

When I run it in my startup folder it doesn't run as admin and doesn't work.

How are you getting it to run on startup as admin?

Use the task scheduler to execute your batch file at startup. See here: https://superuser.com/a/929227
newbie
Activity: 4
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 01:36:02 PM
I have a report "Disable failed"

Are you running the batch file as an administrator?

I can run the batch file as admin manually, and it works great.

When I run it in my startup folder it doesn't run as admin and doesn't work.

How are you getting it to run on startup as admin?
member
Activity: 195
Merit: 15
October 27, 2017, 01:35:00 PM
I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
thank you!!! i wii try that!
member
Activity: 115
Merit: 10
October 27, 2017, 01:33:36 PM
Is OverdriveNTool working good? There has been reports, that changing values with it doesn't really do much (same as Wattmann). But I guess it has been updated and working fine since then?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 11:31:52 AM
Windows can reboot or BSOD.
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 11:27:36 AM
Ups...

But now "Disabled on reboot" and "Enabled on reboot"

Reboot, run the batch file again, and try mining.
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 11:17:34 AM
I have a report "Disable failed"

Are you running the batch file as an administrator?

Ups...

But now "Disabled on reboot" and "Enabled on reboot"
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 11:09:07 AM
I have a report "Disable failed"

Are you running the batch file as an administrator?
newbie
Activity: 28
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 11:07:57 AM
I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938

I have a report "Disable failed"
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 11:00:17 AM
I can confirm this is working with 8 cards
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 08:53:11 AM
Question:  the command to launch OverdriveNTool -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1...  is that pulling up separately saved profiles for each Vega card and applying them, or something else?

That's exactly what it does. Every card can undervolt to varying degrees, so I have different profiles with different voltages for each card. From the OverdriveNTool documentation:

Code:
Command Line:
-p[gpu_id]"Name"
apply profile "Name" to GPU with id=[gpu_id], silently
full member
Activity: 305
Merit: 148
Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!
October 27, 2017, 08:39:49 AM
I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938

Interesting.  I was banging my head against the wall trying to get a third Vega running on an MSI X370 Ryzen build.  I noticed that if I went into the Registry and disabled Crossfire and ULPS, the third card would show up, but there were still problems.

Question:  the command to launch OverdriveNTool -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1...  is that pulling up separately saved profiles for each Vega card and applying them, or something else?

Thanks.
newbie
Activity: 37
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 08:29:28 AM
I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
Thank you for sharing! Smiley
newbie
Activity: 15
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 07:56:54 AM
ppl would try to sell every step:p
newbie
Activity: 11
Merit: 0
October 27, 2017, 07:22:31 AM
thanks for sharing, i have found the same process when i look at the other hbcc-activate program yesterday !

No problem! Just to set the record straight, I didn't copy this from the other guy. I actually discovered this last Thursday, after spending days running through pretty much every other possibility (Linux, virtual machines, etc). Kind of weird how people tend to discover things at around the same time.
Pages:
Jump to: