Pages:
Author

Topic: POLL: What's the *real* reason you ever got into Bitcoins? - page 4. (Read 13686 times)

legendary
Activity: 1904
Merit: 1002
to help establish an decent, alternative currency.

This.  Not sure why all the options center around getting rich or getting a shot of adrenaline.
Activity: 16
Merit: 0
a combination of crypto, decentralization, (near) anonymity, and to help establish an decent, alternative currency.
Activity: 12
I did it for the crypto. :-)
Activity: 22
I want to make money! I'm a freshman in high school, and I want to get started early. I'm extremely tech-savvy - my friend and I are working on building a huge rig in his open garage with VNC to manage the computers.
Activity: 700
Merit: 500
Meh, not so many Sad There is still a long road ahead. After earning some BTC I went in search for something to buy, you know..anything just to see the thing actually working. Found nothing worth buying unfortunately, the market is still evolving I suppose?
Oh, the reason...free great video cards (that I can only dream about before) great hardware, cool weird looking rigs humming away while warming the house and making some money along the way...how can you resist that?
Activity: 353
Merit: 250
I went here because of it's an interesting value free of fees
and also it is accepted on many sites
Activity: 45
"hand over your wallet.dat" - I want to see that line in a movie! Awesome!
legendary
Activity: 1330
Merit: 1026
Mining since 2010 & Hosting since 2012
I'm interested to see how the economy develops. There's not currently many vendors in my area, and perhaps I'll work some to change that...

I'm really interested in getting tangible in-person goods and services (e.g. contracting, mechanic work, restaurants) to be exchanged for bitcoin.

As a necessary precursor we will need to make it easier (as in, trivial for a novice computer user) to use a secure two-wallet system.