Author

Topic: Wall Observer BTC/USD - Bitcoin price movement tracking & discussion - page 32145. (Read 26472772 times)

legendary
Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000
--------------->¿?
Activity: 504
Merit: 500
Can someone post some working Mtgox price tickers?
Activity: 601
Merit: 503
where will it rebounce, 170, 160 ?
legendary
Activity: 1904
Merit: 1002
Also, I doubt they are using bitcoin-qt... I'm not sure where kazu got that from.

[22:33] <@MagicalTux> samson_: downloading new blocks as fast as bitcoind can

bitcoind != bitcoin-qt, but whatever.... also, just because they use bitcoind to handle the networking and blockchain doesn't mean that bitcoind has the only copy of the data and the only codepaths that can work with said data.

Actually they are the exact same thing. QT just contains what is effectively a GUI wrapper.

Since I am a programmer by trade, the difference seems pretty large to me, but I fully understand that under the hood they have the same engine.  But bitcoin-qt has a lot more code, and has a much larger attack surface.
What are you going to attack on Bitcoin-QT that you can't attack on Bitcoind? The connection to the Bitcoin network is by far the most vulnerable place in both, and they happen to run essentially the same code.

The GUI code....  Yes, networking absolutely demands the tightest security and cleanest code, but that's exactly why most vulnerabilities are found in less important code.  It does not have as much attention paid to it.  Once you can execute arbitrary code, you can do anything you want with the network code or wallet code.  Hopefully the user doesn't unlock their wallet Wink.
legendary
Activity: 2097
Merit: 1070
That is a good example of a possible fallback they could implement, as I suggested.