Pages:
Author

Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread (Read 61296 times)

legendary
Activity: 3528
Merit: 2414
Evil beware: We have waffles!
This is what I did for my Compacs. Works with original Compac, 2Pac, Newpac & F.
Running on a Pi-3B & Raspian. I'd think that should work with a RiPii-0 as well..
Code:
Nov 2, 2021
Installation and running cgminer on Raspi or other `UX
My Solo Account on Kano.is is  somename (fake) To break down per-worker add .
For CompacF it's  somename.CompacF
Newpacs are  somename.OldNewpacs
Highly suggested to run he F's and any pods on a seperate instance from slower sticks like the Newpacs, 2Pacs, Compac, etc.

Main Forum page for the F's  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5355470.msg58200639#msg58200639
- Speeds -
--gekko-compac-freq 305 --gekko-2pac-freq 200 --gekko-newpac-freq 225 --gekko-compacf-freq 425

-- Running CGMiner -
linux:
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.kano.is:3333 -u somename. -p x --suggest-diff 442

eg for the Ferarri's
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.kano.is:3333 -u somename.CompacF -p x --suggest-diff 442 --gekko-compacf-freq 425

-------------
Installation info
- CGMiner Git -
The master git for cgminer is https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer

CGMiner README https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/blob/master/README
That includes linux compile steps, but to repeat, on linux:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libncurses5-dev zlib1g-dev git

cd
git clone https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native -fcommon" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko --enable-icarus

make

-----------
-Tweaks -
To run it at a higher frequency, add on to the commands above e.g.
 --gekko-compacf-freq 400

The latest version of the gekko driver (as of 2021-10-17) has a new mining option:
--gekko-mine2

This uses a slightly different mining loop that also reports all frequency changes to the screen,
and why they change if it stepped down.

There's a second option if you have enabled the mine2 option:
--gekko-tune2 60

that allows the miner to recover lost frequencies if it was unable to match the frequency requested due to the environment, but it later improves e.g. gets cooler.
The '60' means check once per hour - default is don't do it.
The miner may just end up stepping up and down once per check if it can't do better, so there's a lower limit of once per 30 minutes, range is 30-9999

newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
Ok trying to setup a rpi zero w (cant find another decent use for it) as a lotto miner. Using a Newpac. I used to have it run on a win10 machine fine but I cant seem to get it to recognize in the pi. followed the steps but I am running into problems with the CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh -enable-gekko make -j 2 command and then it wont see the newpac and since it wont see the newpac im up a creek. I am running the piOS lite 64. Im elevated to root. Im loosing what little mind I actually have. If anyone has ideas please feel free to drop them on me like a sack of hammers.

I am not sure that I totally understood your issue to be honest, I mean in which step the problem appeared.

But, in case it could be useful for you, I want to mention that I needed to use the following commands to make it work on my Pi 0w :

Code:
cd cgminer
CFLAGS="-O2 -fcommon" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make

Without the -fcommon option, I never managed to make it work properly. Hope it will help.

Its not recognizing the newpac for some reason, any chance someone would be willing to copy/ paste all commands I need to put in for the shell to get this working (minus wallet address). Im about to reflash and start over.
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 1065
Crypto Swap Exchange
Ok trying to setup a rpi zero w (cant find another decent use for it) as a lotto miner. Using a Newpac. I used to have it run on a win10 machine fine but I cant seem to get it to recognize in the pi. followed the steps but I am running into problems with the CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh -enable-gekko make -j 2 command and then it wont see the newpac and since it wont see the newpac im up a creek. I am running the piOS lite 64. Im elevated to root. Im loosing what little mind I actually have. If anyone has ideas please feel free to drop them on me like a sack of hammers.

I am not sure that I totally understood your issue to be honest, I mean in which step the problem appeared.

But, in case it could be useful for you, I want to mention that I needed to use the following commands to make it work on my Pi 0w :

Code:
cd cgminer
CFLAGS="-O2 -fcommon" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make

Without the -fcommon option, I never managed to make it work properly. Hope it will help.
legendary
Activity: 3304
Merit: 1836
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
That step you mentioned is a couple steps which compile the cgminer. What error are you getting? Without knowing what is failing and where, there's not much to help with. Are you doing "dash oh two" or "dash zero two"? Because it's a capital O, not a zero. That's a common/easy mistake that causes the compiler check to fail.
newbie
Activity: 2
Merit: 0
Ok trying to setup a rpi zero w (cant find another decent use for it) as a lotto miner. Using a Newpac. I used to have it run on a win10 machine fine but I cant seem to get it to recognize in the pi. followed the steps but I am running into problems with the CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh -enable-gekko make -j 2 command and then it wont see the newpac and since it wont see the newpac im up a creek. I am running the piOS lite 64. Im elevated to root. Im loosing what little mind I actually have. If anyone has ideas please feel free to drop them on me like a sack of hammers.
legendary
Activity: 3304
Merit: 1836
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
Standard boost is 4 midstate, lowboost is 2 midstate. Changes the packet size and timings and I forget why exactly but it worked a bit better on whatever janky USB subsystem Windows uses.
hero member
Activity: 504
Merit: 1065
Crypto Swap Exchange

sudo cgminer -o stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.braiins.com:3333 -u miningpeon.gekko --gekko-compac-freq 175 --gekko-2pac-freq 200 --gekko-newpac-freq 300 --gekko-compacf-freq 350  -p x --suggest-diff 128 --gekko-lowboost --gekko-start-freq 155 --gekko-tune-up 85 --gekko-mine2 --gekko-tune2 60

May I ask what is the goal of "gekko-lowboost" ?

The readme only says :
Quote
--gekko-lowboost    GekkoScience NewPac/R606 AsicBoost - 2 midstate

I understand the usage of "--gekko-noboost " but I don't understand what is doing lowboost concretly
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 1
Hey thanks man- I did pull the repository from https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer.git - I think that there is a voltage thing going on with a few of them, I am going to toy around with the coupe that don't work when I get back Stateside from a business trip- again, thanks for all the time you put in on this- have a fantastic day!
legendary
Activity: 4354
Merit: 1783
Linux since 1997 RedHat 4
No idea where you got cgminer from,
but if it's the official one (mine) then either there's not enough power going to the miners or there's something wrong with them.

Also, since you are on linux you would have to build it yourself, if it's my version, as per the steps explained on the gekko support page:
https://kano.is/gekko.php#lin

The only other official version for the older gekkos is VH's as per the start of this thread.
But that wont work on the CompacF and it also wont say 4.12.1

So if it's not working and you didn't get my (or VH's) version of cgminer, wipe the cgminer you got and get the version on here to be sure it's not a software problem: https://kano.is/gekko.php#lin
newbie
Activity: 6
Merit: 1
Hey- I need to be pointed in the right direction-

I got bored and cooked up a little Gekkoscience / RPi rig and ran into a spot of trouble with two of my new stick miners-

I have like 20 + of mixed models, original Compac, 2pac, Newpac, and Compac F's ( I am a mining degenerate ) .

ALL of my other stick run, hash, ect. for YEARS on end-

Since we are in the NewPac thread, we'll focus on that- but the same thing happens to one of my old 2Pacs

So- I am runnning a Raspberry Pi 3 B with the 2022-09-22-raspios-bullseye-arm64.img

I am using a Sotma 10 Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub. ( 12V/10A/120W ) specs say 5V /2.1A of output per port-

this is ONLY being used with 2 sticks. ( I have rotated the sticks all around, between different hubs, swapped PSU's, to no avail)

I run this - ( My coding skills are weak- )

sudo cgminer -o stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.braiins.com:3333 -u miningpeon.gekko --gekko-compac-freq 175 --gekko-2pac-freq 200 --gekko-newpac-freq 300 --gekko-compacf-freq 350  -p x --suggest-diff 128 --gekko-lowboost --gekko-start-freq 155 --gekko-tune-up 85 --gekko-mine2 --gekko-tune2 60

cgminer version 4.12.1 - Started: [2023-02-19 18:58:39.494]

 SB management [P]ool management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: GSH 10037043: found 0 chip(s)         | ZOMBIE
 1: GSD 10010214: found 0 chip(s)         | ZOMBIE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2023-02-19 18:58:37.529] Started cgminer 4.12.1
 [2023-02-19 18:58:37.530] Probing for an alive pool
 [2023-02-19 18:58:37.778] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 8192
 [2023-02-19 18:58:37.907] Rejected untracked stratum share from pool 0
 [2023-02-19 18:58:38.791] 0: GSH 0 - Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2023-02-19 18:58:39.493] 0: GSH 0 - NewPac Bitcoin Miner (10037043)
 [2023-02-19 18:58:39.494] 1: GSD 0 - 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10010214)
 [2023-02-19 18:58:39.495] Network diff set to 39.2T
 [2023-02-19 18:58:58.947] GSD 0 failure, disabling!
 [2023-02-19 18:59:00.135] GSH 0 failure, disabling!
 [2023-02-19 18:59:01.254] 0: GSH 0 - Toggling ASIC nRST to reset



This will continue- So, I just gotta know before I waste any more time- did these new ones I bought crap out> ?

newbie
Activity: 23
Merit: 0
One's last Terminus R606 gone 'Zombie'. I use a HP 1200w PSU with a break out. Restarted everything, changed cables etc; 'found 0 chip(s)'
10x NewPac's, 2x 120W 8 port GekkoScience USB hub work like trojans on the same breakout board.
Where cgminer would normally read BM1387:12+ I get (minus the '+') BM1387:6; the previous dead terminus reads BM1387:10.
Anyone repaired or know if R606 repairable?

If it is dead chips then one assumes BM1387B chips and BM1387 tin tool will do the trick. I already own the other tools to remove and remount the chips if need be.
hero member
Activity: 868
Merit: 5808
not your keys, not your coins!
I have not gotten my Apollo BTC Full 'loaded' version up yet...but was wondering if there is a timeline on when the scrypt node/type as such, 'full' loaded
version with all the 'bells & whistles' is back in stock? Even if out to 2024...thanks...
Huh? Wrong thread? This is a GekkoScience / sidehack thread.
You probably want to ask in Official FutureBit Apollo BTC Software/Image and Support thread, instead.
copper member
Activity: 2898
Merit: 1459
Clueless!


I have not gotten my Apollo BTC Full 'loaded' version up yet...but was wondering if there is a timeline on when the scrypt node/type as such, 'full' loaded
version with all the 'bells & whistles' is back in stock? Even if out to 2024...thanks...

newbie
Activity: 7
Merit: 2
So I jsut got an email notice from Bitcoinmerch.com about NewPacs being back in stock. I thought wow.. those were from 2018 and 2019.. Really?   So I go to their website and check and sure enough BitcoinMerch.com just listed some new NewPacs for sale @$149.00 each. Says they have 12 of them.  Think they just found an old stock box of 12 sitting in the warehouse?

Just 1 in stock! These are being snapped up!
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
So you did not buy directly from Gekko, therefore I request you amend your statement that Gekko took your money and ran, providing no service.

It's a bit troubling that Eyeboot, who did take your money and owes you service, didn't follow up properly. Try contacting him again, and tell him I sent you.

You're right.
The reseller took the money and ran away. (amended)
Too late to get refunded.
My R606 is in the garbage for months after waiting forever and reading post from others with similar problems.
It had many failures and was discontinued and in my experience it was a bad machine marketed too quickly.

For the buyer it doesn't matter if a Samsung TV is from Walmart or Best Buy.
It's still a Samsung TV.
I have no problems with my Gekko Newpac and may give the R909 a try but I'll wait a bit  Grin

legendary
Activity: 3304
Merit: 1836
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
So you did not buy directly from Gekko, therefore I request you amend your statement that Gekko took your money and ran, providing no service.

It's a bit troubling that Eyeboot, who did take your money and owes you service, didn't follow up properly. Try contacting him again, and tell him I sent you.
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
Did you buy directly from GekkoScience, or from a reseller? If so, which one?

Mine was from Amazon seller Eyeboot.
Got in contact with them and 419Mining for repair, but they were swamped with complaints with the R606 and just stopped replying.
Was running at freq 700 for about 1 TH/s as advertised and it still failed
legendary
Activity: 3577
Merit: 1090
Think for yourself

I had the R606 but it broke within 4 months at recommended max settings.

My two R606's are still hashing away.
legendary
Activity: 3304
Merit: 1836
Curmudgeonly hardware guy
Did you buy directly from GekkoScience, or from a reseller? If so, which one?

The R909 may have the same case size but the overall design is changed considerably from the R606 to get rid of a lot of the reliability issues that one had. R606 production was straight-up stopped while there was still demand because they just had too many problems, too high failure rate despite multiple revisions.

R909 has better power handling, better cooling, heck it's even got better solder. The biggest problem so far is heatsink screws coming loose during transit but assembly procedures had already been changed by the third reported case.
newbie
Activity: 17
Merit: 0
Top-mounted or side-mounted fan? Anyone have any pictures to share?
I used a side-mounted 120mm fan with 2 Compac F's, but if you have more chips, top mount sounds like a better idea.
You could even use a fan header splitter to use 2 or more fans, of course.

So I jsut got an email notice from Bitcoinmerch.com about NewPacs being back in stock. I thought wow.. those were from 2018 and 2019.. Really?   So I go to their website and check and sure enough BitcoinMerch.com just listed some new NewPacs for sale @$149.00 each. Says they have 12 of them.  Think they just found an old stock box of 12 sitting in the warehouse?
Honestly, ever since the R909 launched there's no better value for home mining than that. $150 is a ton of money for 45Gh/s; for 4x the price, sidehacks' latest product gets you 55x the performance. So it's basically 10 times better. Wink

Any cons with the R909?
I had the R606 but it broke within 4 months at recommended 1 TH//s settings.
Zero customer service from the reseller.
They took the money and ran away.
The unreliable machine made me go with the Apollo BTC miner.
Got a full node and a standard.
Both are good and about similar cost per TH
Much less problems than the R606.
Pages:
Jump to: