Pages:
Author

Topic: IRS claims it has LOST two years' worth of emails from former official Lerner - page 19. (Read 22699 times)

Activity: 343
Merit: 100
Well, I have an associate's degree in IT and I can tell you this is total BS. They should have had backups and, even if they didn't, any competent IT professional should have been able to extract the data from the defunct hard drives involved.

You assume people holding the job is a competent personal.
legendary
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1001
minds.com/Wilikon

Reporter Sharyl Attkisson Raises Good Questions IRS Should Answer On “Lost” Lerner Emails

https://twitter.com/JohnEkdahl/status/477903945382125568/photo/1

Activity: 518
Merit: 250

Anyone here in bitcointalk an IT professional? How can this still be possible in 2014?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2657545/IRS-claims-LOST-two-years-worth-email-embattled-former-official-Lois-Lerner-tea-party-targeting-scandal-heats-again.html

Lost emails? well a server crash without any backups. Be it, that the receiver also does not have the emails and that the NSA does not have a copy. Emails are usually stored on the sending/receiver end (in sent mail or otherwise) and so its likely that the majority of it is not lost.

tl;dr; they do not have IT professionals over there or scam

legendary
Activity: 1484
Merit: 1007
spreadcoin.info
Well, I have an associate's degree in IT and I can tell you this is total BS. They should have had backups and, even if they didn't, any competent IT professional should have been able to extract the data from the defunct hard drives involved.

I had 3 crashed harddrives in the last 10 years. (of about 100 harddisks in total)
And I always managed to save atleast 90% of the data. There were some bad sectors, yes ... but a harddisk that can't be rescued anymore is a harddisk that was deliberately destroyed.