Pages:
Author

Topic: 1GH/s, 20w, $700 (was $500) — Butterflylabs, is it for real? (Part 2) - page 57. (Read 146909 times)

legendary
Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001
Okey Dokey Lokey
but i guess theres more profit in selling it to ppl who could afford it?
Of course. Selling pitchforks to the miners is always more profitable than mining the gold yourself, if I may be so bold as to use one of [Tycho]'s expressions.
Yeah, It's the same thing as being a Farmer, You can eat your own food, And live untill natural death
Or, Do that exact same thing, And sell some of your crop and seeds, Gaining you extra income, Causing you to live in wealth untill natural death
rjk
Activity: 448
Merit: 250
1ngldh
but i guess theres more profit in selling it to ppl who could afford it?
Of course. Selling pitchforks to the miners is always more profitable than mining the gold yourself, if I may be so bold as to use one of [Tycho]'s expressions.
Activity: 341
now i'm no expert by any means but it kind of seems like one of those "buy my how to get rich strategy" deals. i mean if invented a box that could do 50g/hash i'd just turn it on and keep my mouth shut. but i guess theres more profit in selling it to ppl who could afford it?
rjk
1ngldh
Actually they did up the watt usage of the rig box, BUT LEFT THE HARSH RATE ALONE lol!
Actually, they dropped it from 54 and some decimal down to the current 50 or so.

Also, it certainly is possible that the quoted price is for the base unit with one hashing module, and you pay extra for additional pluggable modules. I don't know if this is the case, but it is possible.
legendary
Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000